Use this resource, compiled by Miriam Posner (UCLA) to find books, articles, and web-links relating to libraries in the digital age, DH in the library, infrastructure and evolution of DH, staffing and support for DH projects, data preservation, and guides to using DH tools.
Ariadne is a web magazine for information professionals in archives, libraries and museums. Originally focused on developments within the UK's Electronic Libraries Programme (eLib), it now additionally reports on newer JISC-funded programs and services as well as other developments in this field, both within the UK and abroad. It is published by UKOLN.
This peer-reviewed, open-access journal publishes articles, forum articles, and databases pertinent to the field of cliodynamics, which combines "historical macrosociology, economic history/cliometrics, mathematical modeling of long-term social processes, and the construction and analysis of historical databases."
Computational Linguistics is an open-access quarterly devoted to the design and analysis of natural language processing systems. It covers computational aspects of research on language, linguistics, and the psychology of language processing and performance. It is published by the Association for Computational Linguistics.
CH Working Papers is an interdisciplinary series of refereed publications related to computer-assisted research. They publish both new and previously published journal articles, pre-prints, selected essays, and some experimental papers which use non-traditional formats.
D-Lib Magazine is an electronic publication with a focus on digital library research and development, including new technologies, applications, and contextual social and economic issues. It is produced by the Corporation for National Research Initiatives (CNRI) for the advancement of knowledge and practice on digital library research and related matters.
Digital Defoe is a peer-reviewed, online journal celebrating the works and culture of the 18th century. More than just an "eJournal," Digital Defoe intends to present an open-access hybrid between print and digital information, with the goal of navigating both the potential and limitations of digital culture. In addition to traditional formats of publication, Digital Defoe welcomes multimedia submissions which push the boundaries of scholarship in the study of the 18th century.
This open-access, peer-reviewed, digital journal covers all aspects of digital media in the humanities, including scholarly articles, editorials, experiments in interactive media, reviews of books, web sites, and digital humanities systems and tools. It is published by the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO). **Note that issues are not published at regular intervals.
This journal publishes the proceedings of the Lawrence J. Schoenberg Symposium on Manuscript Studies in the Digital Age, which is sponsored by the Schoenberg Center for Electronic Text and Image (SCETI) and the Free Library of Philadelphia. The symposium, held annually, addresses the application of digital technology to research on manuscripts and books produced before the age of printing. Each year of the symposium is devoted to a specific theme. The proceedings are fully open-access. For more information on the symposium itself, visit the symposium website.
Digital Studies/Le champ numérique is a refereed, academic journal which serves as a formal arena for scholarly activity and as an academic resource for digital humanities researchers. It publishes a broad range of works including academic articles, scholarly notes, working papers, field synopses, larger reviews, and opinion pieces. It is produced by the Society for Digital Humanities / Société pour l'étude des médias interactifs (SDH/SEMI), a partner in the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO). **Note that issues are not published at regular intervals.
This peer-reviewed, open-access journal, produced by the Arts & Humanities Department of the Universat Oberta de Catalunya, is aimed at academics, professionals and students who are interested in transformations in knowledge in the digital age, and repercussions of and applications for information and communication technologies (ICT) for studies, teaching and knowledge dissemination, as related to the humanities and social science fields. Other articles judged to be sufficiently relevant are also sometimes included. Each issue takes on a particular theme. All articles, as well as the journal site itself, are available in full-text in English, Spanish, and Catalan.
The Fibreculture Journal is an electronic, open-access, peer reviewed international journal committed to exploring issues and ideas in the field of digital scholarship. It covers the social and cultural contexts, philosophy and politics of contemporary media technologies and events, with a special emphasis on the ongoing social, technical and conceptual transitions involved. **Note that issues are not published at regular intervals.
First Monday is one of the first openly accessible, online, peer–reviewed journals. Its content is devoted to ideas related to the history, current use, and future of the Internet. First Monday publishes articles on all aspects of the Internet, including comments on trends and standards, technical issues, political and social implications of the Internet, and educational uses.
Game Studies is a non-profit, open-access, cross-disciplinary journal dedicated to games research, which is web-published several times a year. Its mission is to explore the cultural genre of games; to give scholars a peer-reviewed forum for their ideas and theories; and to provide an academic channel for ongoing discussions on games and gaming. Game Studies primarily focuses on the aesthetic, cultural and communicative aspects of computer games, but is also open to articles on other topics related to games or gaming. **Note that issues are not published at regular intervals.
This open-access, peer-reviewed journal addresses the reformulation of the philosophical and philological study of literary works in the digital age. Its articles incorporate discussion from comparative media studies, translations, interdisciplinary approaches to philology, and "new humanist philosophy." Topics relating to Petrarch and other aspects of the humanist age are particularly emphasized. The journal is published annually.
This journal published by the ACM deals with the application of information and communication technologies (ICT) in the Cultural Heritage sector, encompassing such areas as data collection, metadata and classification, toos for analysis and reconstruction, preservation issues, and more as used for historical and cultural interpretation. Articles are available through CUA's subscription to ACM Digital Library.
Published by Digital Humanities Now and composed of selected Editor's Choice posts from that site, this open-access, quarterly, peer-reviewed journal began publication in March 2012. It features scholarship, projects, and tools produced by the digital humanities community. This journal aims to expand coverage of DH by (1) publishing less-traditional forms of scholarly work; (2) including content from open/public discussions in DH; (3) enabling continuing discussion through peer-to-peer review.
The Journal of Electronic Publishing acts as a forum for research and discussion about contemporary publishing practices and the impact of those practices upon users. Its articles present innovative ideas, best practices, and leading-edge thinking about all aspects of publishing, authorship, and readership.**Note that issues are not published at regular intervals.
This journal considers the role of computing in the field of history, including its application to historical research, writing, teaching (at any level, including K-12) and dissemination of historical knowledge. It also publishes reviews of useful resources. A major goal of this journal is to help define useful standards to maximize the utility of computers in historical studies. It is sponsored by the American Association for History and Computing (AAHC).
This peer-reviewed, open-accessjournal, the official publication of the TEI (see Tools & Tutorials page), publishes proceedings of the annual TEI conference, as well as other materials related to electronic textual editing, TEI encoding, and the role of technological standards and electronic textual editing in DH (ex, digital scholarly editing, linguistic analysis, semantic web research, and more).
This international journal presents material on all aspects of computing and information technology as applied to literature/language research and teaching. It publishes results of research projects and descriptions/ evaluations of techniques and methodologies, in addition to reports covering works-in-progress. It is published on behalf of the Association for Literary and Linguistic Computing, and is now the main print publication of the Alliance of Digital Humanities Organizations (ADHO).
New Media & Society is a peer-reviewed, international journal which attempts to engage in critical discussions of the key issues arising from the scale and speed of new media development. Drawing on a wide range of disciplinary perspectives and on both theoretical and empirical research, it publishes research from communication, media and cultural studies, as well as sociology, geography, anthropology, economics, the political and information sciences and the humanities.
Published by the Parsons Institute for Information Mapping, this journal addresses "both the theoretical and practical aspects of information visualization and its disciplines." It publishes traditional essays in addition to both interactive and non-interactive projects relating to visual analysis/interpretation; debates regarding information distribution and use; cognition, thinking and learning; visual and perceptual literacy; historic use of information in imagery; semiotics; and other areas. The journal is free to access, although readers are asked to register (for free) as "subscribers."
Vectors primarily publishes works which need to exist in a multimedia format, with a focus on the ways technology shapes, transforms, reconfigures, and/or impedes social relations, both in the past and in the present. It features submissions and specially-commissioned works comprised of moving and still images; voice, music, and sound; computational and interactive structures; social software; and more.