Data Management Old: Data Repositories

This page contains links to repositories accepting data. It is important to note that this list is not comprehensive; if you are trying to deposit data and cannot find what you need among the resources here, the library can help you locate a suitable repository.

Use our Repository Quick Guide to navigate different directories of specialized repositories, such as re3data, as well as repositories accepting a broad range of data from all academic disciplines.

To learn more about citing data, including showing others how to cite your data, see an instructional video on Data Citation.  

This page contains links to repositories accepting data. It is important to note that this list is not comprehensive; if you are trying to deposit data and cannot find what you need among the resources here, the library can help you locate a suitable repository.

Chemistry

• Cambridge Structural Database - small molecule crystal structures.
• ChemSeer - Research in environemental chemistry.
• ChemSpider - links together compound information across the web, providing free text and structure search access of millions of chemical structures.
• Crystallography Open database - The Crystallography Open Database (COD), which is a project that aims to gather all available inorganic, metal–organic and small organic molecule structural data in one database, is described.
• NMRShiftDB - is a NMR database (web database) for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra.
• PubChem - A database of chemical molecules and their activities against biological assays. The system is maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).

Earth and Environmental Sciences

• GSA Data Repository - An open file in which authors of articles in our journals can place information that supplements and expands on their article.
• Oceanographic Data Repositories - funded by the US NSF Biological and Chemical Oceanography Sections to collaborate with investigators to insure access to data generated in the course of research funded by those sections.
• OpenEnergyInfo - the Energy Datasets section of OpenEI stores structured information in widely-used formats such as CSV, XML, and XLS.
• ShareGeo - Is the place to find and to share geospatial data.

Geospatial

• Geocommons - Share your interactive maps and analysis with others. Maps are easily embedded in websites, blogs and wikis and with one click can be shared via Facebook, Twitter and many others.
• The National Geospatial Digital Archive - From the first colonial maps to the satellite imagery of the 21st century, cartographic information has helped define and frame our view of the United States. Geospatial imagery is now a critical tool for state and federal researchers pursuing greater understandings of complex matters including: Disaster Relief, Census Data, and Land Use Management.

Health Sciences

• Cancer Imaging Archive - From the National Cancer Institute, this is a large archive of medical images of cancer accessible for public download. 
• ClinicalTrials.gov - A registry and results database of publicly and privately supported clinical studies of human participants conducted around the world, a service of the National Institutes of Health. 
• National Database for Autism Research - An NIH repository and research community portal for Autism Spectrum Disorder data.  

Humanities

• The Association of Religion and Data Archives: A resource of surveys and polls relating to religion and religious practice in the United States and internationally.
• Cultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive: CPANDA, the Cultural Policy & the Arts National Data Archive, is the world's first interactive digital archive of policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States.
• EH.net: The Economic History Association’s EH.net provides an on-line location for researchers in economic history to make their data series available to other professionals and interested scholars.
• Mutopia Project: offers sheet music editions of classical music in the public domain, typeset using LilyPad.
• National Archive of Data on Arts and Culture: Maintained by ICPSR, this database collects datasets on the consumption and impact of culture in society. 
• Open Context: Open Context reviews, edits, and publishes archaeological research data and archives data with university-backed repositories, including the California Digital Library.

Life and Biological Sciences

• Boreal Information Centre - Geospatial datasets and information to aid management of the North American boreal forest biome. 
• The Climate Center - The Data Basin Climate Center centralizes critical climate change datasets.
• Dryad - An international repository of data underlying peer-reviewed articles in the basic and applied biosciences.
• Global Biodiversity Information Facility - Enables free and open access to biodiversity data online. We’re an international government-initiated and funded initiative focused on making biodiversity data available to all and anyone, for scientific research, conservation and sustainable development.
• National Addiction and HIV Data Archive Program - Acquires, preserves and disseminates data relevant to drug addiction and HIV research.
• NCBI Databases - National Center for Biotechnology Information advances science and health by providing access to biomedical and genomic information.
• NeuroMorpho.Org is a centrally curated inventory of digitally reconstructed neurons associated with peer-reviewed publications.
• Protected Areas Center - Spatial data on the status of global land and water protection.
• Protein Data bank - The PDB archive contains information about experimentally-determined structures of proteins, nucleic acids, and complex assemblies.
• UniProt - Free protein sequences.

Physics and Astronomy

• HEP Data - high-energy physics reaction database of Numerical HEP scattering cross sections.

Science

• MyExperiment - Virtual Research Environment enables you and your colleagues to share digital items associated with your research — in particular it enables you to share and execute scientific workflows.

Social Sciences

• Dataverse - A network of data sharing repositories for social science data.
• ICPSR - An international consortium of about 700 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community. ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.  
• OLAC, the Open Language Archives Community - An international partnership of institutions and individuals who are creating a worldwide virtual library of language resources by: (i) developing consensus on best current practice for the digital archiving of language resources, and (ii) developing a network of interoperating repositories and services for housing and accessing such resources.
• Qualitative Data Repository (QDR) - The first domain repository in the United States dedicated to curating, archiving, preserving, and publishing digital data arising from qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences.QDR is hosted by the Center for Qualitative and Multi-Method Inquiry, a unit of Syracuse University’s Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs.