Subject and Course Guides: Anatomy Resources: Anatomy Online

Electronic Anatomy Resources

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.
Acland's Video Atlas of Human Anatomy
The Video Atlas was originally intended to be used by individual medical and dental students. Because of its realism, simple language, and three-dimensional quality, the Video Atlas has become popular with students and teachers in many other fields and also with people not on a professional learning path who are looking for information about human anatomy. Includes captions.

Anatomy Atlases
Anatomy Atlases is a digital library of anatomy information curated by Ronald A. Bergman, Ph.D.
Get Body Smart
Animated text narrations and quizzes to explain the structures and functions of the human body systems
Gross Anatomy Dissections
From the University of Wisconsin School of Medicine and Public Health, a series of videos to support their anatomy curriculum.
Healthline Human Body Maps
An interactive, 3D map of the human body, geared towards consumers
Inner Body
Interactive model of the body organized by system with detailed descriptions.
Instant Anatomy
Interactive anatomy tutorials as well as audio and video podcasts
Khan Academy Human Anatomy & Physiology
Introductory videos by anatomical system with quizzes.
Master Muscle List
From Loyola University, a list of human muscles with information on origin, insertion, action, and nerve
MedicalLook Human Anatomy
Organized by system, provides detailed description of anatomy functions
Spongelab Build-A-Body
Interactive games and tutorials based on anatomical systems
Visible Human Project
From the National Library of Medicine, information on accessing images from the Visible Human Project
more...less...
This NLM project's goal is the creation of complete, anatomically detailed, three-dimensional representations of the normal male and female human bodies.

iAnatomy
- This link opens in a new window
A pocket interactive anatomy atlas from the head and neck to the pelvis
Visual Anatomy Free
- This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Inexpensive interactive reference, and education tool for learning anatomy.

Anatomia Collection 1522 - 1867
Anatomical Plates from the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library at the University of Toronto
more...less...
This collection features approximately 4500 full page plates and other significant illustrations of human anatomy selected from the Jason A. Hannah and Academy of Medicine collections in the history of medicine at the Thomas Fisher Rare Book Library, University of Toronto. Each illustration has been fully indexed using medical subject headings (MeSH), and techniques of illustration, artists, and engravers have been identified whenever possible. There are ninety-five individual titles represented, ranging in date from 1522 to 1867.
Gray's Anatomy Online
From Bartleby, this is the original text and images of Henry's Gray's 1918 Anatomy of the Human Body
more...less...
Features 1,247 vibrant engravings—many in color—from the classic 1918 publication, as well as a subject index with 13,000 entries ranging from the Antrum of Highmore to the Zonule of Zinn.

Human Body Maps
An interactive, 3D map of the human body
MedlinePlus Anatomy
Contains links and images to various body system information.
Zygote Body
Formerly Google Body, this site is an interactive 3D image of human anatomy; premium subscription available