Physics Publishers
- American Institute of Physics Online Journals
Publications of the American Institute of Physics.
- IOP Publishing Current Journals Archive
Current physical science journals from IOP Publishing, a subsidiary of the Institute of Physics. Note: UIC subscribes to only some of the titles in this database.
- PROLA : Physical Review Online ArchiveArchive of all American Physical Society journals (1893-present)
What's New in Physics
What's New in Science
General Databases
- Google ScholarGoogle Scholar searches a large variety of indexed material (ArXiv, Physical Review journals, etc.) with the familiar Google interface and effectiveness.
- Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
- Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
- Journal Citation Reports
A comprehensive resource that allows users to evaluate and compare journals using citation data drawn from scholarly and technical journals from publishers in over 80 countries. It is the only source of citation data on journals, and includes virtually all areas of science, technology, and social sciences.
- CAS SciFinder-n Registration
Register for SciFinder-n web access with your UIC email address.
Open Access Physics Resources
ArXiv : This is a great repository for preprints of articles in major journals as well as postprints, articles, conference proceedings and more. One feature is that it allows you to narrow your search to very specific sub-disclines in physics.
List of Open Access Physics Journals: This is a link to the Directory of Open Access Journals, specifically their physics listing.
And just to spread the word, if you are worried about Open Access or open access mandates infringing on academic freedom, please read: Open Access: Six Myths to Put to Rest
Browzine
Subject Guide
801 S. Morgan St
Chicago, IL 60607