Librarian
801 S. Morgan St.
2-131 LIB
Chicago, IL 60607
Maps at Richard J Daley Library
The Maps Collection of the Richard J. Daley Library houses a cartographic materials collection of over 179,000 maps, 2,000 atlases, 150,000 aerial photographs, a small collection of map-related reference books, as well as digital data. The Maps Collection is located on the third floor of the Richard J. Daley Library.
Most Maps materials are available in the open cabinets on the 3rd floor of the Daley Library.
For reference assistance for Maps Unit materials, visit the Ask A Librarian service. Select “General Library & Research Information” as the department to which we should direct your question, type your research question and list any call numbers of items or collections/boxes/folders you would like to review in the Question or More Detail/Explanation field
Some Maps are only available in the Special Collections and University Archives Reading Room. Please note the hours of the Special Collections Reading Room and contact them directly. Direct Contact Link.
Public Land Survey Plats and Field Notes
The original plats and field notes for an area can be useful to understand how an area has changed in the last 150 or more years. These are available on microfilm at the Daley Library and online through the General Land Office (GLO).
For more information, see M.D. Hutchinson (1988) "A Guide to Using the Public Land Survey Field Notes in Illinois." Natural Areas Journal 8: 245-255.
More information is available in this guide from Mike Iverson and Dennis Nyberg. Guide
Mapping Online @ UIC
UIC has several databases that allow the creation of maps based on demographic and business data.
- SimplyAnalytics
A web-based mapping, analytics, and data visualization application with 100,000+ data variables, including demographic data from the US Census dating back to 1980, the American Community Survey (ACS), consumer spending data from the Consumer Expenditure Survey (CEX), and D&B's Points-of-Interest business directory providing access to over 5 million US business profiles. Additionally, users have access to the MRI-SimmonsLOCAL consumer behavior dataset, which includes data on over 8,000 brands, 450 categories and detailed lifestyle data, the PRIZM Premier marketing segmentation system, and the Community Lifestages dataset. The CDC PLACES health data delivered by SimplyAnalytics provides 27 diverse health measures, including Health Outcomes, Prevention, Health Risk Behaviors, and Health Status. Data is largely available down to the block group level, and custom locations can be created.
To save your searches, you need to sign up for an account using your UIC email address.
Access restricted to 5 concurrent users. - Social Explorer
Social Explorer provides access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Create maps and reports to better illustrate, analyze and understand demography and social change.
Note: Social Explorer has developed a new libguide. To see the new libguide, you can go this link here - Data Axle Reference SolutionsFormerly known as ReferenceUSA, this database offers instant, real-time access to in-depth information on millions of U.S businesses and consumers. Find jobs and business opportunities, locate companies nationwide, research business executives, view historical market trends, track down contact information, and discover news articles for research.
- PolicyMap
PolicyMap is an data and mapping tool for accessing data about communities across the U.S. to make better-informed decisions without any prior experience.