Introduction
This page aims to provide a starting point for research into LGBTQIA+ health topics. There are a mix of UIC specific/licensed assets as well as freely available resources. This is a dynamic page and new resources will be added as appropriate. If you have a resource you feel should be added to the page, please reach out to Holly Hudson at hhudson@uic.edu.
Please note, when starting research on health related topics and LGBTQIA+ populations, it is important to keep the ethics of researching with vulnerable populations in mind. LGBTQIA+ groups still face severe stigma and discrimination in many settings, including healthcare. It is vital to be sensitive and keep your participant's physical and mental safety at the core of your research.
Databases
While these databases do not only index LGBTQIA+ materials, they do have robust medical content indexed from a variety of sources. Please see the "home" page of this guide for some example keywords to search
- APA PsycINFO
Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
Our EBSCOhost databases will be moving to a new user interface starting Monday, May 19th, 2025 with the exception of CINAHL which will transition on August 1st.
For additional information about searching and managing results, please visit the EBSCOhost Transition Center.
Please send additional queries or comments to: ask@uic.libanswers.com
- EMBASE : Excerpta Medica Database
Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group. - GenderWatchFocuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
- Sociological AbstractsInternational literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Journals
Here you will find a selection of UIC subscription journals related to LGBTQIA+ health. While we strive to keep this list up-to-date, please be aware that access is not guaranteed and may change without notice.
- Sexual and Gender Diversity in Social ServicesPrevious Title: Journal of Gay & Lesbian Social Services
Further Resources
- Yale University Research Guide: LGBTQIA+ HealthGuide provides support for starting research on LGBTQIA+ populations and health related topics
Web Resources
- LGBTQIA+ Health Education CenterProvides education on basic terms and concepts related to LGBTQIA+ key issues. A good website for familiarizing oneself with current terminology and potential search terms
- Medline PlusWebsite sponsored by the National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. Provides links to other federal government agency statistics and sites on LGBTQIA+ topics
- GLMAFocuses on providers
- OutCare: LGBTQ Health Care ResearchProvides a list of recent LGBTQIA+ health care articles as well as opportunities to collaborate and network on LGBTQIA+ research projects
- National Coalition for LGBTQ HealthSponsors the State of LGBTQ Health survey, speaking to both patients and providers
Books
Young, Disabled and LGBT+ by
Young, Disabled and LGBT+ brings together the work of an international team interested in exploring the intersection of sexuality, gender identity, and disability in the lives of young people and aims to further develop this area as a distinct area of study. This volume features original research and writing into lives that are often misunderstood, marginalised and under-represented in research. It is framed with artwork, poetry and writing from young disabled LGBT+ people, and centralises the voices and lives of young disabled LGBT+ people throughout. Drawing from disciplines including: sociology, psychology, disability and youth studies, and with contributions from practitioners, it examines experiences and research from a number of perspectives, such as education, personal lives and activism. Featuring work from the UK, Canada, United States, India and Australia, it is a timely and topical book which will appeal to scholars particularly interested in sexuality, gender, disability and youth studies; professionals within health, education, social work and youth work who aim to understand and support young disabled LGBT+ people; and young people themselves.
ISBN: 0429582145Publication Date: 2020-01-24
Lgbt Health by
LGBT Health: Meeting the Needs of Gender and Sexual Minorities offers a first-of-its-kind, comprehensive view of mental, medical, and public health conditions within the LGBT community. This book examines the health outcomes and risk factors that gender and sexual minority groups face while simultaneously providing evidence-based clinical recommendations and resources for meeting their health needs. Drawing from leading scholars and practitioners of LGBT health, this holistic, centralized text synthesizes epidemiologic, medical, psychological, sociological, and public health research related to the origins of, current state of, and ways to improve LGBT health. The award-winning editors have assembled LGBT health experts who have conducted extensive research into diverse areas of LGBT health. Sections guide the reader through the entire spectrum of LGBT health, from the historical roots of LGBT health research all the way to modern, emerging lines of inquiry to improve health among diverse gender and sexual minority groups. Specific groundbreaking coverage includes such populations as LGBT veterans; reproductive health and parenting; sexual minority persons living with chronic illness and disability, and more. This encompassing volume serves as a go-to reference, a call to action, and a guide for anyone involved in researching and improving the health of LGBT populations. KEY FEATURESSynthesizes research from the psychological, sociological, medical, and public health fields into a comprehensive discussion of LGBT healthCovers the continuum of health from antecedents and sociocultural determinants through specific evidence-based approaches for improving outcomesIncludes specific focus on a wide range of health outcomes, including topics often neglected in the field such as reproductive health and parenting, intimate partner violence, cancer, and other chronic diseasesSpecifically investigates a variety of LGBT subgroups and their unique health needs including for LGBT veterans, transgender men and women, and racial and ethnic minorities who are LGBTPowerPoint slides with discussion questions available for qualified Instructors
ISBN: 0826133770Publication Date: 2017-10-28
Trauma, Resilience, and Health Promotion in LGBT Patients by
This book has two goals: to educate healthcare professionals about the effect of identity-based adversity on the health of their LGBT patients, and to outline how providers can use the clinical encounter to promote LGBT patients' resilience in the face of adversity and thereby facilitate recovery. Toward this end, it addresses trauma in LGBT populations; factors that contribute to resilience both across the lifespan and in specific groups; and strategies for promoting resilience in clinical practice. Each chapter includes a case scenario with discussion questions and practice points that highlight critical clinical best practices. The editors and contributors are respected experts on the health of LGBT people, and the book will be a "first of its kind" resource for all clinicians who wish to become better educated about, and provide high quality healthcare to, their LGBT patients.
ISBN: 9783319545073Publication Date: 2017-06-14
Clinicians Guide to Lgbtqia+ Care by
Strive for health equity and surmount institutional oppression when treating marginalized populations with this distinct resource! This unique text provides a framework for delivering culturally safe clinical care to LGBTQIA+ populations filtered through the lens of racial, economic, and reproductive justice. It focuses strongly on the social context in which we live, one where multiple historical processes of oppression continue to manifest as injustices in the health care setting and beyond. Encompassing the shared experiences of a diverse group of expert health care practitioners, this book offers abundant examples, case studies, recommendations, and the most up-to-date guidelines available for treating LGBTQIA+ patient populations. Rich in clinical scenarios that describe best practices for safely treating patients, this text features varied healthcare frameworks encompassing patient-centered and community-centered care that considers the intersecting and ongoing processes of oppression that impact LGBTQIA+ people every day--particularly people of color. This text helps health providers incorporate safe and culturally appropriate language into their care, understand the roots and impact of stigma, address issues of health disparities, and recognize and avoid racial or LGBTQIA+ microaggressions. Specific approaches to care include chapters on sexual health care, perinatal care, and information about pregnancy and postpartum care for transgender and gender-expansive people. Key Features: Emphasizes patient-centered care incorporating an understanding of patient histories, safety needs, and power imbalances Provides tools for clinician self-reflection to understand and alleviate implicit bias Fosters culturally safe language and communication skills Presents abundant patient scenarios including specific dos and don'ts in patient treatment Includes concrete objectives, conclusions, terminology, and references in each chapter and discussion questions to promote critical thought Offers charts and information boxes to illuminate key information
ISBN: 9780826169150Publication Date: 2021-01-28
Latinx Queer Psychology by
This book brings together studies that contribute to the emergence of a latinx queer psychology. LGBTQ+ studies have gradually included the perspective of sexual and gender diversity, but they have been predominantly elaborated from North American and European perspectives. This book focuses on different understandings and practices developed by Latin American researchers that contribute to a broader application of psychological knowledge in LGBTQ+ studies, as well as sexual and gender diversity issues, but goes beyond the region by also incorporating chapters written by European and North American authors influenced by latinx perspectives. Latin American psychology has developed original approaches to LGBTQ+ studies based on a new theoretical critique to the mainstream psychological theories that has given rise to a new queer psychology. The chapters in this book showcase both theoretical contributions and empirical researches in this emerging field from six Latin American countries - Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica and Uruguay - as well as from Spain, the United States and Puerto Rico. Latinx Queer Psychology: Contributions to the Study of LGBTIQ+, Sexual and Gender Diversity Issues aims to contribute to the decolonization of psychological knowledge and practices addressing sexual and gender diversity issues, and to serve as a useful resource for social, community, clinical and educational psychologists working with research and practice involving LGBTIQ+ populations, as well as to social scientists in general interested in queer and gender studies.
ISBN: 9783030822491Publication Date: 2021-12-14
LGBT Populations and Cancer in the Global Context by
Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender (LGBT) also known as sexual and gender minority (SGM) populations have been the focus of global attention. Most importantly, LGBT populations have been addressed in the context of human rights in multiple reports and other activities by the United Nations and other international organizations. There is great variation among countries in the recognition of LGBT individuals' human rights. A global focus on LGBT populations' health is still limited, with the notable exception of HIV research. This book on LGBT populations and cancer in the global context is, therefore, an important step in that it will broaden the focus on LGBT populations' health. Globally, cancer is the second leading cause of death. Cancer morbidity and mortality are increasing disproportionately among populations in lower-income countries. A review conducted by the World Health Organization (WHO) found that of the 82% of member states (158) countries, only 35% of the national cancer control plans addresses vulnerable population, including LGBT populations. These findings reflect an increasing awareness about equity when addressing cancer prevention and control, including LGBT populations. This book addresses LGBT populations' cancer burden across countries that range from high- to low-income countries to support efforts in diverse countries that are working towards reducing LGBT populations' cancer burden. It documents place-specific challenges that impede progress towards reducing the LGBT cancer burden as well as critically assesses the variation in cancer control efforts that target LGBT populations and cancer to support progress at a global scale. This book includes six sections that cover the six WHO regions, with each chapter written by an author from the specific region s/he is covering. Each chapter makes use of a template that contextualizes the region, local data collection/availability, risk factors, cancer prevention, detection, diagnosis, treatment, and survivorship.
ISBN: 9783031065842Publication Date: 2022-08-22
The Health of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People by
At a time when lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender individuals--often referred to under the umbrella acronym LGBT--are becoming more visible in society and more socially acknowledged, clinicians and researchers are faced with incomplete information about their health status. While LGBT populations often are combined as a single entity for research and advocacy purposes, each is a distinct population group with its own specific health needs. Furthermore, the experiences of LGBT individuals are not uniform and are shaped by factors of race, ethnicity, socioeconomic status, geographical location, and age, any of which can have an effect on health-related concerns and needs. The Health of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People assesses the state of science on the health status of LGBT populations, identifies research gaps and opportunities, and outlines a research agenda for the National Institute of Health. The report examines the health status of these populations in three life stages: childhood and adolescence, early/middle adulthood, and later adulthood. At each life stage, the committee studied mental health, physical health, risks and protective factors, health services, and contextual influences. To advance understanding of the health needs of all LGBT individuals, the report finds that researchers need more data about the demographics of these populations, improved methods for collecting and analyzing data, and an increased participation of sexual and gender minorities in research. The Health of Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual, and Transgender People is a valuable resource for policymakers, federal agencies including the National Institute of Health (NIH), LGBT advocacy groups, clinicians, and service providers.
ISBN: 9780309379090Publication Date: 2011-07-24
Librarian
Holly Hudson
She/Her
Contact:
1601 Parkview Ave
Rockford, IL 61107
Rockford, IL 61107
815-395-5656
Subjects: Biomedical Sciences, Medicine