Find items on the UIC Library website, including research guides, help articles, events and website pages.
Police Brutality & Racism
As protests erupt throughout the nation to hold law enforcement and criminal justice institutions accountable, UIC's Richard J Daley library has created this research guide to help our community understand systemic racism and demand justice for all.
More than 3,900 commissioned articles and includes 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes. Search for encyclopedia articles on "police brutality" "racism" and other social issues.
Comprehensive resource exploring the past, the progress, and the present of African Americans in four volumes, each building, complementing, and expanding on the previous volume. Presents four centuries of noteworthy accomplishments through a fascinating mix of biographies--including more than 750 influential figures--little-known or misunderstood historical facts, and enlightening essays on significant legislation and movements.
The Encyclopedia of Black Studies is the leading reference source for dynamic and innovative research on the Black experience. Contains a full analysis of the economic, political, sociological, historical, literary, and philosophical issues related to Americans of African descent. More than a chronicle of black culture or black people, this encyclopedia deals with the emergence and maturity of an intellectual field over the past four decades.
Designed for readers to understand the topics, concepts, and ideas that motivate and shape the fields of activism, civil engagement, and social justice and includes biographies of the major thinkers and leaders who have influenced and continue to influence the study of activism.
Addresses a wide range of emergent topics in law and society and revisits perennial questions about the widening gap between codified laws and "law in action", problems in the implementation of legal decisions, law's constitutive role in shaping society, the importance of law in everyday life, ways legal institutions both embrace and resist change, the impact of new media and technologies on law, intersections of law and identity, law's relationship to social consensus and conflict, and many more.
Collection of essays providing an overview of the history and development of research on gender and crime. Alongside these essays are boxes which highlight particularly innovative ideas or controversial topics - such as cybercrime, restorative justice, campus crime, and media depictions.
In recent years, scholars have broadened their definitions of violence beyond the realm of interpersonal harms such as murder, armed robbery, and male-to-female physical and sexual assaults in intimate relationships, to include behaviors often ignored by the criminal justice system, such as human rights violations, racism, psychological abuse, state terrorism, environmental violations, and war.
a foundational space for understanding the cultural life and imaginative force and power of crime and punishment. Across five areas foundational to the study of crime and media, leading scholars from five continents engage cutting edge scholarship in order to provide definitive overviews of over 120 aspects of media portrayals of crime, policing, and criminal justice