Skip to Main Content

Databases

Find the best library databases for your research. To report any issues, please email Electronic Resources.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
New
APA PsycTherapy provides clinicians, counselors, and trainees the opportunity to observe candid psychotherapy videos featuring known therapists. This proven counseling training method is an invaluable tool to remain abreast of the latest psychotherapy techniques. Includes captions and transcripts.
Trial

Includes six decades of premier news, reporting and commentary about key developments in the art world. Coverage spans all forms of contemporary art, including painting, sculpture, installation, body art, video/audio art, performance art and more. Trial ends September 2024.

Trial
Collection of landmark videos from the BBC. 3 year trial ends September 2024.
Trial
The Black Abolitionist Papers is a five-volume documentary collection culled from an international archival search that turned up over 14,000 letters, speeches, pamphlets, essays, and newspaper editorials by nearly 300 black men and women. 3 year trial ends September 2024.
Trial
Business E-books Online is an online database that gathers 500 of the best-known textbooks and reference materials in business education in convenient digital format. 3 year trial ends September 2024.
New Trial

The CABI Compendium brings together data and research on species, pests, and diseases across agriculture, aquaculture and livestock production, and the environment into one comprehensive resource.​ It includes the following channels: Animal Health and Production, Aquaculture, Crop Protection, Food Safety & Quality, Forestry, Horticulture, Invasive Species, and Seedborne Pests. Trial ends August 21st, 2024.

New
Chicago's nationally recognized African American newspaper.
Trial
The backfiles of over 30 periodicals concerning the 20th-century history of the British Empire, decolonization, and the history and culture of former colonies. This archive offers a mixture of British publications about the empire and titles published in Commonwealth countries. Trial ends September 2024.
New Trial

Browse more than 550 volumes of classical Latin and Greek texts complete with English translations, introductions, notes, and bibliographies. Trial ends August 3rd, 2024.

Trial
Collection focused on a highly active, if checkered, period in the history of the Central Intelligence Agency, during which President Dwight D. Eisenhower authorized numerous clandestine programs around the world. These include Iran 1953, Tibet 1956-57, the Congo beginning in 1960, and the Bay of Pigs, Cuba 1961. Trial ends September 2024.
Trial
Covering the key periods of the 20-year U.S. war in Afghanistan, this timely collection provides researchers with a trove of revealing primary documents, chiefly from the Bush and Obama years. Trial ends September 2024.
New
The Early Years Clip Library is a new online resource comprising hundreds of short training film clips covering child development, play, effective learning, provision, effective teaching and specific theories & approaches. Some content has captions and transcripts.
Trial
More than 3,000 issues comprising the run of the renowned newsweekly, The Far Eastern Economic Review (1946-2009). Known for its authoritative reporting, this publication was devoted to many facets of the Asia-Pacific region, including politics, economics, international relations, and the arts/culture. Trial ends September 2024.
Trial
Aletta Jacobs was a Dutch physician and feminist who, along with her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting information on women's issues in the late 1800s. Overall, the collection contains more than 4,500 publications from the U.S., the U.K., Canada, New Zealand, and continental Europe. Trial ends September 2024.
Trial

Latin American Drama is a one-of-a-kind database with plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries. 3 year trial ends September 2024.

Trial
Showcases two radio programs: the weekly Spanish-language Enfoque Nacional (1979-1988) and the Daily English-language Latin File (1988-1990). They focus on Latinx issues related to politics, sociology, human rights, the arts and more. Includes transcripts. 3 year trial ends September 2024.
Trial
This is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. 3 year trial ends September 2024.
New Trial

A British literary magazine published twice monthly that features articles and essays on fiction and non-fiction subjects. Trial ends August 2nd, 2024.

Trial
Historical archives of the Los Angeles Times digitized cover-to-cover from 1881 to 2013. Trial ends September 2024.
Trial
This collection will bring together 105,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts, Semantically Indexed and online for the first time. 3 year trial ends September 2024.
Trial

Started in 1916 by Cleveland inventor Garrett Morgan, the Call & Post Newspaper, established itself as one of the most influential black newspapers in Ohio. Trial ends September 2024.

Trial

This historic newspaper was first in many ways: First U.S. newspaper to print a regular Sunday edition, first U.S. newspaper to publish court testimony, and the first American newspaper published in Europe when it began a London edition in 1881. A fundamental resource for labor relations, union history, and the automotive industry. Trial ends September 2024.

Trial

Searchable collection of articles published in Louisville's Courier-Journal, covering the years from 1830 to 2000. Trial ends September 2024.

Trial

The Michigan Chronicle is a weekly African American newspaper based in Detroit, Michigan. This digital archive provides access from the founding of the newspaper in 1934 through 2010. Trial ends September 2024.

Trial
The Americans for Democratic Action Records trace the evolution of the organization as it supported civil rights, the united international control of atomic energy, and global democracy. The collection contains records of campaigns on vital issues such as equal rights, disarmament, the Vietnam War, inflation, and unemployment. Trial ends September 2024.
Trial
John A. Ryan was the foremost social justice advocate and theoretician in the Catholic Church during the first half in the 20th century. Ryan’s relationship with President Franklin D. Roosevelt and the New Deal both personally and politically garnered him the nickname "Right Reverend New Dealer." The John A. Ryan Papers span from 1892 to 1945, with a heavy focus on the last twenty years of his life, 1925 to 1945. Trial ends September 2024.
Trial
Consists of collections selected from the holdings of the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. These collections represent rice, cotton, and sugar plantations in North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi and Arkansas. Major collections include Cameron Family Papers, and Pettigrew Family Papers. Trial ends September 2024.
Trial
The fourth installment of Plantation Records in History Vault focuses on plantations in North Carolina and Virginia while also covering Tennessee, Kentucky, and Alabama. Major series of records in this module document tobacco and cotton plantations in the Tidewater, Coastal Plains, and Piedmont regions of North Carolina. Trial ends September 2024.
Trial
A collection of primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture. The database uses “queer” in its broadest and most inclusive sense, embracing LGBT topics as well as other sexual and gender formations that are queer. Particular focus is given to perspectives from people of color, trans people and people with disabilities. Trial ends September 2024.
New
The Early Years Clip Library is a new online resource comprising hundreds of short training film clips covering child development, play, effective learning, provision, effective teaching and specific theories & approaches. Some content has captions and transcripts.
New
Find, evaluate and implement protocols and methods across the life sciences. Includes Springer Protocols, Nature Protocols, and Nature Methods. UIC's subscription does not include Nature Reviews Methods Primers.
New

An international, business-focused newspaper that provides leading news, information, commentary, and analysis. Includes access to all content including newsletters, videos, and podcasts.

Use this link to register for an account on the Wall Street Journal website. Afterwards, you can access your account directly at wsj.com. You can find more detailed instructions about registration in the newspapers guide.

Trial
This database examines efforts to foster gender equity through expanded economic and social participation of women on a global scale. Covering a century, the database highlights and evaluates activism through individual efforts, organizational initiatives, and socio-cultural projects led by or for women in the Global South. Includes captions and transcripts. Trial ends September 2024.
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...