American Indian Newspapers presents the publications of a range of communities, with an extensive list of periodicals produced in the United States and Canada, from 1828 to 2016.
APA PsycTherapy provides clinicians, counselors, and trainees the opportunity to observe candid psychotherapy videos featuring known therapists. This proven counseling training method is an invaluable tool to remain abreast of the latest psychotherapy techniques. Includes captions and transcripts.
Includes six decades of premier news, reporting and commentary about key developments in the art world. Coverage spans all forms of contemporary art, including painting, sculpture, installation, body art, video/audio art, performance art and more. Trial ends September 2024.
The Black Abolitionist Papers is a five-volume documentary collection culled from an international archival search that turned up over 14,000 letters, speeches, pamphlets, essays, and newspaper editorials by nearly 300 black men and women. 3 year trial ends September 2024.
Business E-books Online is an online database that gathers 500 of the best-known textbooks and reference materials in business education in convenient digital format. 3 year trial ends September 2024.
The backfiles of over 30 periodicals concerning the 20th-century history of the British Empire, decolonization, and the history and culture of former colonies. This archive offers a mixture of British publications about the empire and titles published in Commonwealth countries. Trial ends September 2024.
COSMIC is the primary repository for the communication and journalism fields for published indexes, scales, and other systems for measurement, and for published articles treating topics in measurement procedure, research design, data analysis, and other issues in methodology.
Covidence is a web-based tool that will help you through the process of screening your references, data extraction, and keeping track of your work when conducting a systematic review, meta-analysis, or scoping review.
Formerly known as ReferenceUSA, this database offers instant, real-time access to in-depth information on millions of U.S businesses and consumers. Find jobs and business opportunities, locate companies nationwide, research business executives, view historical market trends, track down contact information, and discover news articles for research.
Collection focused on a highly active, if checkered, period in the history of the Central Intelligence Agency, during which President Dwight D. Eisenhower authorized numerous clandestine programs around the world. These include Iran 1953, Tibet 1956-57, the Congo beginning in 1960, and the Bay of Pigs, Cuba 1961. Trial ends September 2024.
Covering the key periods of the 20-year U.S. war in Afghanistan, this timely collection provides researchers with a trove of revealing primary documents, chiefly from the Bush and Obama years. Trial ends September 2024.
Drama Online is an award-winning digital library of nearly 4,000 playtexts, over 700 hours of video, over 400 audio plays, and over 500 books of criticism and performance practice from leading theatre publishers and companies. UIC subscribes to the Core Collection and Critical Studies & Performance Practice.
The Early Years Clip Library is a new online resource comprising hundreds of short training film clips covering child development, play, effective learning, provision, effective teaching and specific theories & approaches. Some content has captions and transcripts.
More than 3,000 issues comprising the run of the renowned newsweekly, The Far Eastern Economic Review (1946-2009). Known for its authoritative reporting, this publication was devoted to many facets of the Asia-Pacific region, including politics, economics, international relations, and the arts/culture. Trial ends September 2024.
Film and television books, articles, reviews, essays, and more.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications and selected coverage of 300 more. In addition to full-text journals, it includes Variety movie reviews dating back to 1914 and more than 65,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
Streaming educational video on a full range of academic subjects, including arts, humanities, business, social sciences, and STEM. Some content has captions and transcripts.
Aletta Jacobs was a Dutch physician and feminist who, along with her husband C.V. Gerritsen began collecting information on women's issues in the late 1800s. Overall, the collection contains more than 4,500 publications from the U.S., the U.K., Canada, New Zealand, and continental Europe. Trial ends September 2024.
Latin American Drama is a one-of-a-kind database with plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries. 3 year trial ends September 2024.
Showcases two radio programs: the weekly Spanish-language Enfoque Nacional (1979-1988) and the Daily English-language Latin File (1988-1990). They focus on Latinx issues related to politics, sociology, human rights, the arts and more. Includes transcripts. 3 year trial ends September 2024.
This is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. 3 year trial ends September 2024.
Established on April 22, 1929 with the support of the “father of Soviet literature,” writer Maxim Gorky, Literaturnaia gazeta is a landmark publication in Russia’s cultural heritage. With its focus on literary and intellectual life, Literaturnaia gazeta allowed Soviet Russia’s preeminent authors, poets, and cultural figures a particular podium for commentary, affording perhaps fewer restrictions than might be possible in other publications. Trial ends December 15th, 2023.
This collection will bring together 105,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts, Semantically Indexed and online for the first time. 3 year trial ends September 2024.
Platino Educa offers unlimited access to hundreds of Spanish and Ibero-American movies, classified by subjects and covering themes across the Environment, Social Sciences, Language and Literature, Arts, and Social Justice.
Pravda was the official voice of Soviet communism and the Central Committee of the Communist Party between 1918 and 1991. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Pravda originated as an underground daily workers’ newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement. Throughout the Soviet era, party members were obligated to read Pravda. Today, Pravda still remains the official organ of the Communist Party of the Russian Federation, an important political faction in contemporary Russian politics. Trial ends December 15th, 2023.
Started in 1916 by Cleveland inventor Garrett Morgan, the Call & Post Newspaper, established itself as one of the most influential black newspapers in Ohio. Trial ends September 2024.
This historic newspaper was first in many ways: First U.S. newspaper to print a regular Sunday edition, first U.S. newspaper to publish court testimony, and the first American newspaper published in Europe when it began a London edition in 1881. A fundamental resource for labor relations, union history, and the automotive industry. Trial ends September 2024.
The Michigan Chronicle is a weekly African American newspaper based in Detroit, Michigan. This digital archive provides access from the founding of the newspaper in 1934 through 2010. Trial ends September 2024.
The Americans for Democratic Action Records trace the evolution of the organization as it supported civil rights, the united international control of atomic energy, and global democracy. The collection contains records of campaigns on vital issues such as equal rights, disarmament, the Vietnam War, inflation, and unemployment. Trial ends September 2024.
John A. Ryan was the foremost social justice advocate and theoretician in the Catholic Church during the first half in the 20th century. Ryan’s relationship with President Franklin D. Roosevelt and the New Deal both personally and politically garnered him the nickname "Right Reverend New Dealer." The John A. Ryan Papers span from 1892 to 1945, with a heavy focus on the last twenty years of his life, 1925 to 1945. Trial ends September 2024.
Consists of collections selected from the holdings of the Southern Historical Collection, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. These collections represent rice, cotton, and sugar plantations in North Carolina, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, Louisiana, Mississippi and Arkansas. Major collections include Cameron Family Papers, and Pettigrew Family Papers. Trial ends September 2024.
The fourth installment of Plantation Records in History Vault focuses on plantations in North Carolina and Virginia while also covering Tennessee, Kentucky, and Alabama. Major series of records in this module document tobacco and cotton plantations in the Tidewater, Coastal Plains, and Piedmont regions of North Carolina. Trial ends September 2024.
A collection of primary source exhibits for students and scholars of queer history and culture. The database uses “queer” in its broadest and most inclusive sense, embracing LGBT topics as well as other sexual and gender formations that are queer. Particular focus is given to perspectives from people of color, trans people and people with disabilities. Trial ends September 2024.
Kul’tura, as it is known today, is the most important Soviet and Russian publication on culture from 1929 to the present, with reviews of major events in literature, theater, cinematography and arts. For nearly 100 years, Kul’tura has provided a unique perspective on ever-changing attitudes toward arts and culture in Soviet and Russian societies. Trial ends December 15th, 2023.
Find, evaluate and implement protocols and methods across the life sciences. Includes Springer Protocols, Nature Protocols, and Nature Methods. UIC's subscription does not include Nature Reviews Methods Primers.
This database examines efforts to foster gender equity through expanded economic and social participation of women on a global scale. Covering a century, the database highlights and evaluates activism through individual efforts, organizational initiatives, and socio-cultural projects led by or for women in the Global South. Includes captions and transcripts. Trial ends September 2024.