Disability services navigation
General Reference Tools
Last Updated: Nov 26, 2014
- Access Science
Access Science is the online edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Includes growing set of research tools: Gateway to the Classics ; Quotable Quotes; Timelines and more. This resource was acquired with funds from the the Library/IT Assessment
- Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Encyclopedia articles and biographies in a variety of subject areas. Updated annually.
- World Encyclopedia
Features concise entries providing essential information on a range of subjects, including world affairs, science and technology, the arts, modern and ancient history, religion, sports, and popular culture
Foreign language dictionaries can be found in the Daley Library's Reference Collection and in the general stacks under the following call numbers:
Please ask at the Reference Desk in the IDEA Commons if you need help locating these.
- Credo Reference Collection
A continually growing collection of electronic reference books -- dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, atlases and directories.
- Oxford Reference Online
Specialty encyclopedias, handbooks, thesauruses and dictionaries; emphasis on American Literature and Western Civilization.
- SAGE Reference E-Books
Growing collection of topic and subject encyclopedias online.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library
Search hundreds of encyclopedias and other resources; especially useful for biography and historical background. This database may not be compatible with Mozilla Firefox.