Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Design Archives: Archival Resources

Details the design-related archival and primary sources at UIC.

About Special Collections

The Special Collections and University Archives Department at the Richard J. Daley library houses collections of rare books, manuscripts, maps and photographs, with particular strength in the social, political and cultural history of Chicago. The collections at the Library of the Health Sciences-Chicago document Chicago's rich history as a center for the education and practice of the medical arts.

The UIC ARCHIVES is the repository for historical records of the University of Illinois at Chicago and its predesessors as well as selected papers of prominent faculty, alumni, and administrative staff.

Search for Archival Collections

The following databases can be used to search for archival materials from other libraries' collections.

Organizational Records

The following archival collections of organizations related to design can be found in the Special Collections Department, Richard J. Daley Library, University of Illinois at Chicago. The links below lead to finding aids (lists of contents) for each collection.

Please visit Special Collections for assistance using these materials or Ask A Librarian.

Personal Papers

The following collections of personal papers from individual designers can be found in the Special Collections Department, Richard J. Daley Library, University of Illinois at Chicago. The links below lead to finding aids (lists of contents) for each collection.

Please visit Special Collections for assistance using these materials or Ask A Librarian.

University Archives

The following UIC-related collection are from the institutional papers in the University Archives, Special Collections Department, Richard J. Daley Library, University of Illinois at Chicago. The links below lead to finding aids (lists of contents) for each collection.

Please visit Special Collections for assistance using these materials or Ask A Librarian.

Guide Author

Valerie Harris
Contact:
Daley Library, Room 3-330

801 S. Morgan St.

Chicago, IL 60607

Ph: 312/996-2742
Website / Blog PageSkype Contact

Ask an Archivist

Not all of our resources are available online. Special Collections encourages researchers to visit the Special Collections Reading Room and consult with an archivist. 

Special Collections Reading Room Locations and Hours

Email Ask A Librarian