Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

UIC Library Faculty Profile: Kavita Mundle: Home

Biography

Kavita Mundle is Assistant Catalog Librarian and Clinical Associate Professor at the University of Illinois at Chicago Library (UIC Library). She joined the UIC Library as a faculty and a cataloger in 2000. Prior to coming to the UIC Library, she worked as a librarian at the Institute for Research in Reproduction in Bombay, India. She received her M.A.L.S from Dominican University. She also has an M.L.I.Sc from S. N. D. T. University and B.S in Chemistry from the University of Bombay, India.

Service

I'm an active American Libray Association (ALA) member since 1998. As a member of the Association of College and Research Libraries (ACRL) and the Association for Library Collections and Services (ALCTS)-divisions of ALA, I have enjoyed serving on various committees within ACRL and ALCTS. Currently, I'm the chair of ALCTS, Cataloging and Metadata Management Section (CaMMS), Research and Publications Committee. I am a member of the 2013 ACRL/STS, Conference Program Planning Committee, and ACRL/STS, Subject and Bibliographic Access to Science Materials Committee. At the regional level, I serve on the CARLI I-Share Cataloging and Authority Control Team (ICAT).

Librarianship

As a cataloger, I'm responsible for ensuring timely access to scholarly information through the organization and preparation of data used in the Library’s information discovery tools such as the Library catalog. With the exponential growth of electronic resources, I am also responsible in providing and maintaing access to e-resources in the library catalog. I apply quality measures and analyze large data files of e-resource records supplied by vendors to ensure that the quality data in the catalog is available for discovery by users at UIC and Ilinois.  

Research and Publications

Electronic resources (e-resources) have become an integral part of library collections since the turn of the century. The access, organization, and the management of e-resources continue to pose challenges. As a cataloger, I therefore, became interested in understanding the impact, influence, and utility of e-tools, such as technical services/catalog department websites and the e-resources themselves. I began my research by looking at the maintenance practices of catalog department websites. Later, as e-resources proliferated, my research focused on issues relating to securing records for e-resources and evaluating the access they provide.

Further studies of how users access e-books and whether they really use the catalog to find e-books, as opposed to other search methods, may offer clues for future improvements in library catalogs to optimize library investment in managing electronic resources. 

Publications:

Subject & Bibliographic Access to Science Materials Committee, Science & Technology Section, Association of College and Research Libraries: “Essential readings in e-science,” Issues in Science & Technology Librarianship (ISTL): No. 64, winter 2011 http://www.istl.org/11-winter/internet2.html

Kavita Mundle: “Integration of Electronic Books into Library Catalogs: the UIC Library Experience,” The Acquisitions Librarian: 19 (3-4) p. 389-407, 2007. Also published as a book chapter in: Adapting to E-Books edited by William Miller, Rita Pellen, Abingdon: Routledge, 2009.

Kristin E. Martin and Kavita Mundle: “Cataloging E-books and Vendor Records: a Case Study at the University of Illinois at Chicago,” Library Resources and Technical Services: 54 (4) p. 227-236, 2010. 

Kavita Mundle, Harvey Huie, and Nirmala S. Bangalore: “ARL Library Catalog Department Web Sites: an Evaluative Study,” Library Resources & Technical Services: 50 (3) p. 173-185, 2006. Also used in syllabus for Library Science courses at the School of Library and Information Science, Indiana University, Bloomington, IN.

Subject & Bibliographic Access to Science Materials Committee, Science & Technology Section, Association of College and Research Libraries: “Collecting grey literature: an annotated bibliography, with examples from the sciences and technology,” Science and Technology Libraries: v. 25 (3) p. 35-70, 2005.

Kavita Mundle, Lisa Zhao, and Nirmala S. Bangalore: “Evaluative Study of Catalog Department Web Pages,” Library Resources & Technical Services: 48 (1) p. 48-58, 2004.

Subject & Bibliographic Access to Science Materials Committee, Science & Technology Section, Association of College and Research Libraries: “Perceived Successes and Failures of Science & Technology E-Journal Access: a Comparative Study,” Issues in Science & Technology Librarianship (ISTL): No. 35, summer 2002 http://www.istl.org/02-summer/article1.html

Presentations:

Kavita Mundle, “Shelf-Ready Processing for UIC Medical Libraries and Beyond: Challenges and Opportunities,” Presentation given at the CARLI I-ICAT Spring Forum, May 17, 2011.

Kavita Mundle, “Authority Work at the UIC Library,” Facilitator/Discussion leader for a group representing large libraries in Illinois at the CARLI I-ICAT Spring Forum, May 18, 2010.

Kavita Mundle and Kristin Martin, “That Didn’t Go Quite as Planned: Obtaining and Improving E-book Records in a Consortial Environment,” Presentation given at the Association for Library Collections and Technical Services Catalog Form and Function Interest Group at the American Library Association Conference in Chicago, July 11, 2009.

Kavita Mundle, "User Information Needs in Agriculture," SNDT University, Bombay, India April, 1992.


Poster presentation: 

Karen Zuidema, Dru Mogge, and Kavita Mundle, “ARL Digital Initiatives Database,” Illinois Library Association conference at Navy Pier, Chicago, IL, Oct. 1999.

 

Subject Guide

Kavita Mundle's picture
Kavita Mundle
Contact:
Electronic Resources Librarian and Clinical Associate Professor

312-413-5681