Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

MHPE 501 - Library Orientation Guide: 1 - Home - 3 Research Accounts

Useful Guides for MHPE Students

Librarian

Fill out the form linked here for questions about your research needs.

For any immediate access problems, you may also use the chat box at the bottom of this page.

Welcome to the MHPE 501 Library Orientation Guide

Welcome to the Masters in Health Professional Education (MHPE) 501 Course Library Orientation Guide. 

Guide Contents

1 - Home - This page describes 3 accounts that will assist your research and access to the full-text of articles outside the UIC holdings via the Find IT @ UIC button. Many of you completed this registration process in MHPE 505.  Registration for Refworks is optional as you may have your own preferred citation manager.    

2 - Orientation to Citation Databases, PubMed and MeSH. This page provides a more detailed description of the records that comprise citation databases such as PubMed.

3 - Boolean Operators, Questions, Filtering, PICO, Special Queries, and Search Optimization. This page discusses essential elements or mechanics of search strategy development. 

4 - Health Professions Education Journals and Resources. This page highlights core journals and resources in the domain of Health Professions Education.

5 - Research Guides, SAGE Research Resources, Plagiarism, Citing Sources, Peer-review & Scholarly Identifiers. 

6 - Apply Your Knowledge. This page presents a number of online tutorials about PubMed and exercises to allow you to apply your knowledge immediately. The exercises on this page are placed on the Assignment Document for MHPE 501.

MYNCBI - PubMed's Search & Citation Management Toolbox

MYNCBI - PubMed's online bibliographic management system and more - use it to save collections, save searches with automated emails, create bibliographies....

Sign-up at:  https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/account/

Note: The login system for MyNCBI is currently in transition, so you will need to sign up using one of the 3rd party sign-in options. You can use one of the ones initially listed, or you can click "See more 3rd party sign in options" and then do a search for University of Illinois Chicago to use your UIC login information.

About the two tutorials below -

PubMed My NCBI -  This University of Maryland's HSHSL library tutorial will briefly introduce you to key MYNCBI account features - 1) Registration Process, 2) Save Search feature (now called Create Alert - look for a link like this under the PubMed search box), 3) and the Collections feature.

My NCBI Home Page - This tutorial was created by PubMed and tells you how to manage the boxes on your MYNCBI homepage. It is for more advanced users.

Many "Quick Tours" are available for brief instruction on PubMed's features and tools. Some of these tutorials are used in this guide, but you may want to explore the full range - link to  http://www.nlm.nih.gov/bsd/disted/pubmed.html

 

If you have trouble with MYNCBI...try this.

1. Logoff MYNCBI in every site and on every browser

2. Clear out all the bookmarks for all the browsers related to PubMed and MYNCBI links – Pubmed distinguishes browsers and treats them differently – you can be logged on in one browser and not another

3. Clear the caches in the browsers

4. Do not use the link from the MYNCBI sign up page to access MYNCBI again once you have registered

5. Use this link from the LHS Library page to access PubMed - http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?otool=uiclib

ILLIAD - Interlibrary Loan Account For Full-Text Articles & The "FIND IT @ UIC" Button

1. ILLIAD - for interlibrary loans. This service provides electronic copies of articles, which are not available in the LHS full-text holdings. ILLIAD delivery is rapid and you may have an article in 1-2 days! 

 Sign-up at: https://uic.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/IAX/logon.html

You will need your Library number, which starts with 28198 or 20111 - it appears on your iCard..

FOR VISITING STUDENTS TAKING A SUMMER COURSE WHO DO NOT HAVE AN I-CARD BUT HAVE A NETID -- Since Distance Ed enrollees are rarely issued I-Cards, the Library ID number is not applicable. Enter N/A in this field and choose "Distance Ed" from the Status pull-down menu.

2. The "Find It @ UIC" Button - How It Works

    

The "Find it @ UIC" button only appears if you have entered the database (e.g., PubMed) via the LHS library gateway. This button links you to the electronic full-text of an article if it is available. When you begin your database search via the LHS webpages, look for this icon in your search results! If you are in PubMed and do not see this button, you probably did not enter PubMed through the LHS website.

If the article is not available electronically through the library's subscriptions, you will  be presented with this message - "Article is not available in electronic format." 

To request a scan of a full-text article via ILLiad (Inter Lilbrary loan), click "Request via inter library loan." The form will auto-fill with the article citation. Inter library loan often takes as little as 1-2 days. You'll get an email linking you back to your ILLiad account, and you'll find the PDF under "Electronically Received Articles."

3. Watch a brief video, in which Rebecca Raszewski demonstrates the use of the "Find it @ UIC" button and ILLia in the context of a CINAHL database search https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M4CifJgDPsY

RefWorks - Citation Manager - Take a screenshot or snip of this box!

RefWorks - the citation management database can be accessed online from anywhere since it is in a cloud.

IMPORTANT: If you have another citation manager you prefer to RefWorks, please use it. We made this section optional because people have other citation managers they like. 

 

OPTIONAL: View Rebecca Raszewski's video on signing up for Refworks https://youtu.be/KeOa0tG-4IY

Using your UIC netid, you can sign-up at: https://www.refworks.com/refworks2/default.aspx?r=authentication::init&groupcode=RWUIllChicago

The RefWorks Group Code may be needed for when you working off campus.   You will need to login with your NETID and password to get the group code.

 

Familiarize yourself with the Refwork's tutorials page at YouTube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=MuVb9j0mX6Y&list=PLC1C8A11EB1895C3B

 

See the LHS guide to citation managers, which covers more than RefWorks  http://researchguides.uic.edu/refworks

These tutorials are well worth the time and provide an introduction to the many time-saving features associated with using Refworks to manage your citations and write your papers using Write-n-Cite.

A known problem - For Macs with the 2016 operating systems, you need download a special plug in for Word. Directions are in the PSL 401 blackboard site in the Library Orientation posting. 

Refworks One-line Citation Method. There are infrequent issues with RefWorks' interface with Word. This link takes you to Rebecca Raszewski's brief tutorial on One-line

Cite View, a feature that will allow you to create in-text citations and work around any interface issues easily -  http://screencast.com/t/3CgjJzZM8