Research is a conversation in which you engage with, interpret, synthesize and challenge different sources, ultimately adding your own voice to the conversation. The web is full of different source types that contribute different perspectives to the conversation, some more scholarly than others.
Instructions: Take 5-7 minutes to look at one of the sources below. Briefly decide what the source is about and whether it might be useful for a research paper.
Consider the following CRITERIA in your analysis:
STRUCTURE: Compare the physical characteristics of the items, such as length, sections, labeling, & graphics
TONE/STYLE: What does the writing style reflect about the purpose/intended audience of the article?
PURPOSE: To inform? Educate? Entertain? What audience is it aimed at?
AUTHOR: What can you tell about the author and their credentials/affiliations?
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Full text coverage of communication and mass media and related fields.
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides citation coverage in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with merging of two databases, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. In addition, Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text for over 200 titles.
Film and television books, articles, reviews, essays, and more.
Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications and selected coverage of 300 more. In addition to full-text journals, it includes Variety movie reviews dating back to 1914 and more than 65,000 images from the MPTV Image Archive. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
Produced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. The database contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals.