Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Fortunoff Video Archive

This guide explains the process for requesting videos from Yale's Fortunoff Video Archive of Holocaust Testimonies to be viewed at UIC's Special Collections at Daley Library.

Requesting Videos

Digital videos from the Fortunoff Archive can only be viewed at Yale or at registered partner locations, including UIC’s Special Collections at Daley Library. Anyone wishing to view them must first create an account with Yale, request a specific video, and then make an appointment with UIC Special Collections to come in and view. You do not have to be affiliated with UIC to take advantage of UIC's status as a partner site. These steps outline the process you will need to follow:

1. Search Yale’s library catalog to find the video you want. 

2. In order to limit to videos in the collection, search for “hvt” (for Holocaust Video Testimony), and add additional words in order to further narrow your search. See How to Search for Videos in this guide for additional tips, in addition to the advice offered by Yale about how to search their library catalog. screen shot for search query

 

3. Once you’ve located a video, click to view the detailed record and click on "Request for Use in Manuscripts and Archives."screen shot to request video

 

4. Create an account (under "Visitors and Hospital/Non-NetID") and submit your request. Please allow 72 hours for your request to be approved. (If you don't receive a prompt response, check your email’s spam folder or log in to your Yale account to check the item’s status.)screen shot for creating an account

 

5. After you receive an email confirmation from Yale, make an appointment with UIC’s Special Collections (located on the 3rd floor of Daley library) to view the video on the dedicated computer. (Where the appointment form asks where you’d like to meet, select “Chicago-Daley: Special collections, university archives, maps, GIS”. In the notes, please indicate that you are coming to use the Fortunoff computer)

6. When it's time for your appointment, go to Special Collections on the south end of the 3rd floor of Daley Library and check in at the desk.

Questions? Contact Special Collections.

Visiting Special Collections

Since you will be visiting Special Collections, you’ll have to follow a few simple rules.

  1. The first time you visit, you must fill out a Research Registration form. Photo ID required.
  2. Food or drink is not permitted inside the reading room.
  3. Coats and bags are not permitted inside the reading room. Ask at the front desk for a locker. Only bring in material you need to complete your research. Laptops, notebooks, and digital cameras are permitted.
  4. Please use only pencil when taking notes (the Reading Room staff can provide pencils).
  5. Downloading or copying the videos is not permitted.