Recommended Databases
Health Science specific databases:
- PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration - Rehabilitation & Sports Medicine SourceRehabilitation & Sports Medicine Source provides indexing for over 200 sports medicine and rehabilitation journals.
- PEDroPEDro is the Physiotherapy Evidence Database. PEDro is a free database of over 17,000 randomised trials, systematic reviews and clinical practice guidelines in physiotherapy.
- REHABDATAFormerly known as CIRRIE, this database describes over 80,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities. The collection spans 1956 to the present.
- EMBASE : Excerpta Medica Database
Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group.
Multi-disciplinary databases:
- Google Scholar
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- Scopus
Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
- Web of Science
Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
- Rehabilitation Reference Center
Rehabilitation Reference Center (RRC) is an evidence-based clinical reference tool for use by rehabilitation clinicians at the point-of-care. RRC provides therapists and students with available evidence for their information needs in the areas of: Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Speech Therapy, and more.
- ICE Video LibraryProvides powerful streaming video collections of real patients and therapists in occupational therapy and physical therapy programs. Videos are available 24/7 for in-class or online teaching.
Note: You must download the Cisco Anyconnect VPN to access ICE Learning Videos.
Here are instructions for Windows, MAC, Linux, Android, and IOS users:
Windows: https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=973
MacOS : https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=904
Linux: https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=910
Android: https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=954
IOS https://help.uillinois.edu/TDClient/37/uic/KB/ArticleDet?ID=964 - DynaMedDynaMed Plus is an evidence-based information resource used by physicians around the world to answer clinical questions. It includes thousands of topics covering emergency medicine, cardiology, oncology, infectious diseases, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and much more.
- UpToDateUpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions.
- Rehabilitation Measures DatabaseView descriptions, instructions, and bibliographies for over 300 rehabilitation instruments.
