Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

UIC Library Faculty Profile: Jane Darcovich, Digital Services Librarian & Liaison for Architecture and Art: Home

Biography

I became a Clinical faculty member at the Daley Library in 2012, where I serve as Digital Services Librarian and Liaison for Architecture and Art. I came to UIC in 1997 as Director of the Visual Resources LIbrary/Slide Library in the College of Architecture, Design, and the Arts. Prior to that, I developed digital image collections for art history teaching at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and earned my MLIS degree in Library and Information Science there.

I also hold a M.A. in Art History from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, and a B.A. (Honours) from Queen's University in Kingston, Ontario, Canada.

Selected Professional Service

  • Senator, UIC Senate, 2020-2022, 2017-2020
  • Convener, ACRL Image Resources Interest Group (IRIG), 2018-2020
  • Financial Advisory Committee Chair, Visual Resources Association, 2010-2012 
  • Treasurer, Visual Resources Association, 2008-2010 
  • Development Committee Co-Chair, Visual Resources Association, 2003-2007 
  • Intellectual Property Committee member, Visual Resources Association, 2003-2008

Professional Duties and Librarianship

Within the library's Digital Programs Department, my responsibilities include improving access to the library's unique collections by managing projects to create and enhance metadata for image digitization projects and making these collections accessible online. As a member of the Metadata Working Group, I participate in developing, updating and maintaining the library's metadata guidelines and standards. I also participate in the library's digital preservation initiatives, and am a member of our department's migration team working to configure and implement our library's Digital Asset Managment system (DAMS).

As Liaison to the Schools of Architecture, Art and Art History, and Design, my responsibilities include collection development for curricula in these programs, including Museum and Exhibition Studies and Art Education. I meet with students and faculty for individual in-person or online consultations, answer research questions via email, and provide library instruction for undergraduate and graduate classes. In collaboration with a Studio Art faculty member, I organized two exhibitions in the Daley Library of altered books created by UIC undergraduate art students, and a third exhibition in winter 2018-2019 featuring the work of graduate students in the MFA program.

My research interests include improving metadata workflows to improve discovery of and access to digital image collections, and critical cataloguing and metadata for diversity. I am also interested in developing exhibition programs for studio art students to make the library more relevant and engaging for them. 

 

Selected Papers and Presentations

Darcovich, Jane, Kate Flynn and Mingyan Li. "Born of Collaboration: The Evolution of Metadata Standards in an Aggregated Environment.Visual Resources Association Bulletin, 45(2), 2018.

Darcovich, Jane. "Incorporating Creative Practice into the Academic Library". Panel presentation at Art Libraries Society of North America (ARLIS/NA) annual conference, New York, N.Y., February 28, 2018.

Darcovich, Jane. "Small Things with Great Love: An Art Department - Library Exhibition Initiative." Fwd: Museums: Small, Issue 2 (2017): 45-51.

Darcovich, Jane. “Treasures in Archives: Chicago Photographs in Daley Library Special Collections.” Presentation at the History of Chicago Photography Scholars Symposium, Terra Foundation, Chicago, May 1, 2015.

Darcovich, Jane. “Benefitting from Digital Evolution: The Carberry Collection of Caribbean Studies.” Midwest Archives Conference (MAC) Newsletter, 42:4 (2015): 16-18. 

Darcovich, Jane. “The Carberry Collection: Transformation and Discoverability.Visual Resources Association Bulletin, 41(1), 2014. 

Darcovich, Jane. "Connecting Collections to Curricula: the C. William Brubaker Collection." Webinar presentation for CARLI series "Anatomy of a Digital Project", May 15, 2012.

Liaison for Architecture and Art

Jane Darcovich's picture
Jane Darcovich
Contact:
Digital Programs & Services
Richard J. Daley Library
312-413-7677