Film and television books, articles, reviews, essays, and more.
Film & Television Literature Index is a bibliographic database that provides cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for more than 300 publications, and selected coverage of 300 more. The database has been designed for use by a diverse audience that includes film scholars, college students, and general viewers.
Full text coverage of communication and mass media and related fields.
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides citation coverage in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with merging of two databases, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. In addition, Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text for over 200 titles.
Database for international languages, literature, linguistics, media studies and more.
MLA International Bibliography covers international scholarly materials on language, literature, linguistics, and folklore, with coverage since 1963. This database includes citations from over 3,000 journals and series published worldwide, as well as monographs, working papers and conference proceedings. There is no geographical limitation to coverage; the Bibliography represents all national literatures.
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. A portion of this resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
Collections of back issues of scholarly journals in the following disciplines: arts and sciences, business, ecology and botany, and general science.
Journals in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Project MUSE® offers more than 200 quality journal titles from some 30 scholarly publishers. It covers the fields of literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
Kanopy is a platform that provides access to documentaries and other types of films. As of April 2019, not all content is automatically available to UIC users to control costs. If you are a faculty member who needs a film activated for a class, please use the request form in Kanopy or send a note to firstname.lastname@example.org . Please include the class name and number, and the date the film is needed.
FILM PLATFORM brings some of the finest documentary films in the world to academia. It contains a curated collection of educational films of social, political, and cultural importance by some of the world’s top international filmmakers.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group.