Skip to Main Content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Databases

Find the best library databases for your research. To report any issues, please email Electronic Resources.

Loading...

New / Trial Databases

Loading...
The following databases are newly acquired or being evaluated for a future subscription.
Trial
Includes six decades of premier news, reporting and commentary about key developments in the art world. Coverage spans all forms of contemporary art, including painting, sculpture, installation, body art, video/audio art, performance art and more. Trial ends September 2022.
Trial
Collection of landmark videos from the BBC. 3 year trial ends September 2022
Trial
The Black Abolitionist Papers is a five-volume documentary collection culled from an international archival search that turned up over 14,000 letters, speeches, pamphlets, essays, and newspaper editorials by nearly 300 black men and women. 3 year trial ends September 2022
New
The experience and impact of African Americans as recorded by the news media. Updated daily with new content, Series 3 is essential for navigating the arc of African American history from 1704 through the present day.
Trial
Business E-books Online is an online database that gathers 500 of the best-known textbooks and reference materials in business education in convenient digital format. 3 year trial ends September 2022
New
Chicago's nationally recognized African American newspaper.
Trial
Collection focused on a highly active, if checkered, period in the history of the Central Intelligence Agency, during which President Dwight D. Eisenhower authorized numerous clandestine programs around the world. These include Iran 1953, Tibet 1956-57, the Congo beginning in 1960, and the Bay of Pigs, Cuba 1961. Trial ends September 2022
New Trial
IPA Source is a trusted resource for assisting educators and singers with language understanding and pronunciation. Their extensive IPA catalog has amassed 15,751 professionally translated and transcribed titles including texts of arias, art song and liturgical texts in French, Italian, German, Spanish, English and Latin, representing works from 928 composers and 1,141 poets. Trial ends on May 25th, 2022

Rockford and Peoria users will need to use the VPN or log in via the proxy in order to access this resource. See instructions here.
Trial
Latin American Drama is a one-of-a-kind database with plays written by Latin American playwrights in the 19th-21st centuries. 3 year trial ends September 2022
Trial
This is an online resource hosting books, periodicals, and archival materials documenting LGBT political, social and cultural movements throughout the twentieth century and into the present day. 3 year trial ends September 2022
Trial
This collection will bring together 105,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts, Semantically Indexed and online for the first time. 3 year trial ends September 2022
Trial
From the century of immigration, through to the modern era, Migration to New Worlds charts the emigration experience of millions across 200 years of turbulent history. 3 year trial ends September 2022
New Trial
Policy Commons provides almost 2.5 million fulltext think-tank publications, including policy reports, administrative documents, books, project and campaign documents, working papers and discussion papers, journal articles, press releases, briefs, and brochures. Trial ends May 31, 2022
Trial
Started in 1916 by Cleveland inventor Garrett Morgan, the Call & Post Newspaper, established itself as one of the most influential black newspapers in Ohio. Trial expires September 2022.
Trial
Since 1898, the Dayton Daily News has reported on historical events as the evening paper for the residents of Dayton, Ohio. Its pages offer researchers a fascinating glimpse into the history and economic, cultural, and social life of Ohio, the U.S., and the world from 1898-1922.
Trial
This historic newspaper was first in many ways: First U.S. newspaper to print a regular Sunday edition, first U.S. newspaper to publish court testimony, and the first American newspaper published in Europe when it began a London edition in 1881. A fundamental resource for labor relations, union history, and the automotive industry. Trial expires September 2022.
Trial
The Indianapolis Star is the largest paper in Indiana. It has been awarded a Pulitzer Prize three times — once for meritorious public service and twice for investigative reporting. In 1975, the Star was honored for its 1974 series on corruption within the Indianapolis Police Department. It was cited again in 1991 for its 1990 series on medical malpractice. Trial expires September 2022.
Trial
Searchable collection of articles published in Louisville's Courier-Journal, covering the years from 1830 to 2000. Trial expires September 2022.
Trial
The Michigan Chronicle is a weekly African American newspaper based in Detroit, Michigan. This digital archive provides access from the founding of the newspaper in 1934 through 2010. Trial expires September 2022.
Trial
When The Cincinnati Enquirer printed its first issue 1841, Cincinnati was the nation’s 6th largest city and was known as “The Queen of the West.” This resource covers a range of studies, including history, political science, economics and genealogy, with reports on world affairs, national events and a record of regional topics related to agriculture, manufacturing, government and people from the dynamic viewpoint of a quintessential western boomtown.
New Trial
Rotunda's core offering is the American History Collection of documentary editions spanning three centuries, from the work of young Ben Franklin through the presidential correspondence of Woodrow Wilson: more than 20 publications with content from over 550 letterpress and born-digital volumes, for a total of nearly 500,000 documents, diary entries, and editorial essays, all cross-searchable.

This trial resource is not intended to support the research mission of UIC. In using this resource, you agree that it will primarily be for evaluation and review. Trial ends May 25th, 2022
Loading...
Loading...
title
Loading...