Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

HIST 440 Securing the Common Good: Find More Primary Sources

Browse Digital Collections

Reforming Their World: Women in the Progressive Era

Reforming Their World: Women in the Progressive Era

A project of the National Women's History Museum.

Changing Neighborhoods: Photographs of Social Reform from 7 Chicago Settlement Houses

Changing Neighborhoods: Photographs of Social Reform from 7 Chicago Settlement Houses

An online interpretive exhibit about settlement house neighborhoods containing photographs and documents from collections in the Special Collections Department, Richard J. Daley Library, University of Illinois at Chicago.

Urban Experience in Chicago: Hull-House and its Neighborhoods, 1899-1963

A collection of primary sources for the history of Hull-House.

Women and Social Movements in the U.S. 1600-2000

Women and Social Movements in the U.S. 1600-2000

Collection combining primary documents with historical and scholarly analysis and teaching tools, all documenting women’s activism in public life.

Women Working, 1800-1930

Women Working, 1800-1930

A digital exploration of women's impact on the economic life of the United States between 1800 and the Great Depression. Working conditions, workplace regulations, home life, costs of living, commerce, recreation, health and hygiene, and social issues are among the issues documented in this online research collection from Harvard University.

Seven Settlement Houses Database of Photographs

Seven Settlement Houses Database of Photographs

Database of historical photographs from seven Chicago settlement houses, including Hull-House. Photographs are from the Jane Addams Memorial Collection, Special Collections Dept., Richard J. Daley Library, University of Illinois at Chicago.

Swarthmore College Peace Collection

Swarthmore College Peace Collection

Swarthmore holds the personal papers of Jane Addams and the papers of the Women's International League for Peace and Freedom.

Search for Archival Collections at Other Institutions

The following databases can be used to search for archival materials from other libraries' collections.

Find Historical Newspapers & Periodicals