Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Your browser is unsupported
We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.
Special Collections and University Archives at Daley Library
801 S. Morgan Chicago, IL 60607
Third floor, south end
10am-4:30pm Monday, Tuesday, Thursday, Friday
12:30pm-4:30pm Saturdays during the school year
About Special Collections
The Richard J. Daley Special Collections Department houses collections of rare books, manuscripts, and photographs. The rare book collection includes books of permanent, historic, and research interest focusing primarily on the history of Chicago. The manuscript holdings consist of records of individuals and organizations important to the history of Chicago. Images of these individuals, organizations, and Chicago form the core of the photographs and digital images collection.
When You Visit
- When you visit the first time you'll fill out a Researcher Registration form. Bring a Photo ID.
- Ask at the front desk for a locker key to place your belongings such as coats and book bags. Only bring in material you need to complete your research. Laptops, notebooks, and digital cameras are permitted. Please use only pencil when taking notes (the Reading Room staff can provide pencils).
- The archivist will bring out one box at a time. Please take only one folder out of a box at a time so that they don't get mixed up. Keep the item in the folder in the same order you found them.
- Ask for white cotton gloves if you'll be handling photographs.
- Please handle all materials delicately. We want the items you're interested in to be available in good shape to researchers in the future.
- Library staff can make photocopies or scans for you for a small fee. Find more information about photocopies and scans.
- You can use your phone or a digital camera to take pictures of materials. Find more information about taking pictures.
- Remember the Reading Room Staff is always available for questions and will be glad to assist you!
Get Help With Your Special Collections Research
Please get in touch with us. We would love to hear about your research topic, help you find materials in our collections, or give you some tips about how to get started.
When you are ready to come for a visit it is a good idea to make an appointment so we can be ready for you.