A guide to information resources relevant to public health research. Includes scholarly sources available through the library, as well as links to public health information freely available on the web, including government documents and data sources.
The Dissertations & Theses database contains full text of doctoral dissertations and masters theses from universities in the Big Ten conference, and free 24-page previews for many others.
Dissertations and Theses contains full text of doctoral dissertations from universities in the Big Ten conference (Committee on Interinstitutional Cooperation or CIC) from 1997 to present. Further, D&T provides free 24-page previews for doctoral dissertations from accredited American and Canadian, selected British and European universities, covering all academic subjects. The non-CIC materials are available for individual purchase.
Has bulletins for Alliance for Research in Chicagoland Communities for community and academic partners searching for events, grant opportunities, calls for papers, proposals and other resources in public health and community engagement.
What is grey literature?
"Grey literature" is a broad category that refers to information published outside of traditional commercial publishers.
Grey literature includes everything from research and government reports to dissertations, conference proceedings, and clinical trial registries. Unlike journals, books, and other traditional types of publications, grey literature is not systematically indexed or organized.
From the website: "Disaster Lit®: the Resource Guide for Disaster Medicine and Public Health is a database of links to disaster medicine and public health documents available on the Internet at no cost." Look here for up-to-the-minute reports & research on disease outbreaks, natural disasters, etc.
Selected links to information on environmental health and toxicology, disasters, chemicals, drugs, and special populations from the Specialized Information Services of National Library of Medicine, U.S. Department of Health & Human Services.