Occupational Nursing and Medicine: Home - Library Resources for Occupational Nursing and Medicine

Comprehensive drug reference solution providing quick access to current, accurate and clinically-relevant drug information.

Medical information database of clinical topic summaries, including a grading the quality of evidence cited, designed primarily for point-of-care use. Includes Isabel which is used by physicians to help construct or broaden a differential diagnosis.
Note: If you get an authentication failed message, close your browser and try accessing the site again.

As of June 30, 2024, UIC will no longer have an institutional subscription to DynaMed. More info.

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to find high quality research evidence to support clinical practice and care. It simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information.

Note: You must download the Cisco Anyconnect VPN to access Trip Pro Database from off campus. Here are instructions for Windows, MAC, Linux, Android, and IOS users:

Windows
MacOS
Linux
Android
iOS

UpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions.

Note: In order to maintain uninterrupted access to the UpToDate mobile app, you must verify your continued affiliation with UIC. You can do so by logging in to UpToDate with your UIC NetID and Password via the proxy link above or via remote VPN and then signing in with your Personal UpToDate account once every 90 days. For more guidance, visit the UIC Library Mobile Medicine Guide on the UpToDate Mobile App.

CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.

Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.

Database in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.

Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group.

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations and additional life sciences books and databases. From mid-1960s to present.

Authoritative resource on dietary supplements, natural medicines, and complementary, alternative and integrative therapies.

Now called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

Literature on biochemical, pharmacological, physiological, and toxicological effects of drugs and other chemicals.

Multidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.