Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Literacy, Language & Culture: Article Databases

Research Tools for Graduate Students

RefWorks

Create your own citation database and quickly build bibliographies with RefWorks.

Learn more about RefWorks.

Full Text Access

Find full text articles from all our UIC Library databases by clicking on

Find it @ UIC

Tips for Searching Article Databases

General Search Tips

enter phrases in quotes to search for exact phrases ("applied linguistics")

use truncation/wildcard symbols to search for multiple word endings (technol* searches for technology and technological)

search by descriptor/subject heading to find fewer results more focused on your topic. 

Use the built in Thesaurus (often listed under "Tools" in the database) to look up preferred search terms. Subject headings/descriptors are also listed in each article record

Boolean Searching

    use AND to combine terms and narrow searches: "language attrition" and children looks for articles incorporating both terms, narrowing the search

    "language learning" OR "language instruction" looks for articles incorporating either term, broadening the search

    You can incorporate both AND and OR into the same search: (tesol OR "english as a second language") AND "high school" 

    Use NOT to exclude a term: (school* OR education) AND mexico NOT "new mexico"

    Subject-Specific Databases

    Multidisciplinary Databases & Collections

    BrowZine E-Journal Viewer for Tablet Devices