This is the "Research Databases" page of the "LGBT Health" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

LGBT Health   Tags: health_sciences, lgbt, medicine  

Databases, texts and clinical resources for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex health
Last Updated: Sep 13, 2012 URL: http://researchguides.uic.edu/lgbthealth Print Guide RSS UpdatesShareThis

Research Databases Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

PubMed@UIC

Searching note for GLBTI in PubMed: New Bolding Feature on Mapped Terms

"Lesbian" maps to ("homosexuality, female"[MeSH Terms] OR ("homosexuality"[All Fields] AND "female"[All Fields]) OR "female homosexuality"[All Fields] OR "lesbian"[All Fields]). The mapped terms will then be bolded in the results.

"Gay" as a search term now maps to: "homosexuality, male"[MeSH Terms] OR ("homosexuality"[All Fields] AND "male"[All Fields]) OR "male homosexuality"[All Fields] OR "gay"[All Fields]

Search the MeSH database for other specific terms. "Transgender" and "intersex" are not MeSH Subject Headings, but "sex differentiation disorders," "transsexualism" and "gender identity" are. "Transgender*" returns: "transgender[All Fields] OR transgender/questioning[All Fields] OR transgender/transsexual[All Fields] OR transgender/transsexual/queer[All Fields] OR transgendered[All Fields] OR transgenderism[All Fields] OR transgenderists[All Fields] OR transgenders[All Fields]

Utilize the Also try: box for more search options and view the Search details to see how the search was performed.

 

New!

Bookplate

This bookplate identifies books that were purchased as a result of a collaboration between CCSLGBI and LHS to add LGBTI health-related books to the collection.

This just in...

Lesbian Health Fund Call for Submissions

The Lesbian Health Fund (LHF), a program of GLMA: Health Professionals Advancing LGBT Equality, was established in 1992 to define, study, and educate lesbians and their health care providers about lesbian health issues. LHF’s mission is to improve the health of lesbians, other sexual minority women (SMW) and theirfamilies through research.

Research areas include:

  • Understanding social, family, and interpersonal influences as sources of stress or support
  • Eliminating inequalities in health care, including barriers to care, and improving quality of care and utilization rates
  • Development and testing of interventions to address mental and physical health needs of lesbians and other SMW, including but not limited to depression, identity related issues, eating disorders, substance abuse, obesity, cancer risks, cardiovascular disease and sexually transmitted infections
  • Sexual and reproductive health, including family & parenting issues

The deadlines for receipt of applications are May 15 and October 15:  http://bit.ly/TL6Wzw

LGBT-specific Research Databases

Gender Watch searches may be limited "to scholarly literature" in basic search and "" in advanced search.

 

More Databases

Can't find what you're looking for? Check the Database A-Z list.

Medical images collections

  • Access Medicine
    Also includes audio and video.
  • an@tomy.tv
    Interactive pictures of the human body.
  • CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences
    Illustrata uncovers tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from scientific literature, including health science related topics.
  • CSA Illustrata: Technology
    Illustrata uncovers tables, figures, graphs, charts and other illustrations from scientific literature, including health science related topics.
  • Images.MD
    Encyclopedia of medical images.
  • MD Consult
    Images and illustrations.
  • Percival Bailey Brain Specimens Collection
    Percival Bailey (1892-1973) was the prime mover and major stimulating force in clinical neurological investigations and advances at the University of Illinois at Chicago (1939-1951). This collection of plastic embedded normal and pathological brain specimens were processed under his direction.
 

Information Services

Ask a Librarian

LHS-Chicago: (312) 996-9163

LHS-Peoria: (309) 671-8490

CLHS-Rockford: (815) 395-5650

LHS-Urbana: (217) 244-0607

Email reference

Research help

IM Reference available
Monday-Friday 11am-4pm

UIC Home

Copyright © 2013 The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois.

  1. Contact us |
  2. Web Privacy Notice |
  3. Having problems accessing this site? Contact user support.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip