Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Kinesiology 337:Psychology of Sport Injury and Recovery : Find Articles

This guide contains helpful information for students in KN 337

E-Journals

Find additional journals in print and electronic format by entering an "Advanced Search" in the library catalog (sport? OR kinesiology OR exercise), limit format to Journals/Magazines.

RefWorks

Create your own citation database and quickly build bibliographies with RefWorks.

Research Databases

Use these databases to locate research articles on your athlete's injury and challenges during recovery.

Quick Research Tips

Try the following searches initially: 

(athlet* psychology recovery)

(athlet* psychology injury)

Then add in your sport/activity, or replace athlet* with your sport, to see if there's a more specific study on your population:

(athlet* psychology injury soccer) or (soccer psychology injury) or (soccer psychology recovery)

If this doesn't give you results, you may have to eliminate one term:

(psychology injury soccer) or (psychology soccer) or (injury soccer)

If you get too specific (too many search terms), "zoom out". If you get too many results with a few terms, add in another or use limits (age limits- article types- etc.)

Determining if a Journal is Peer-Reviewed: Ulrich's Periodicals Directory

How do I know if my article comes from a peer-reviewed journal?

  • You can use Ulrich's Periodicals Directory to check to see if a particular journal is peer-reviewed. If it is, the record will include the referree jacket icon depicted above, meaning that the journal is "refereed"/peer-reviewed
  • Peer-reviewed journals contain articles that have been carefully reviewed by experts in a particular field of study to ensure that the research they present meets high standards of quality
  • Peer-reviewed journals are also referred to as scholarly, academic, or refereed
  • Common characteristics of peer-reviewed journal articles:
    • they have an abstract, which is a paragraph at the beginning of the article summarizing the content and findings of the article
    • the authors are affiliated with academic institutions (most often colleges and universities)
    • the articles are long (usually anywhere from 10-35 pages) and primarily text-based (pictures included are usually charts and graphs, as opposed to glossy photos as in popular magazines)
    • they contain a lengthy bibliography (also called "references," or "works cited" list). You can use this list to find additional sources on your topic.

Connect to Ulrich's Using the Link below:

Reference

Ask a Librarian

Daley Reference: (312) 996-2726

Email reference

Text a Librarian: 773-442-2757 Send a text (SMS) message from your mobile phone to the number listed above Monday-Friday from 11am-4pm.

More research help

IM Reference available
Monday-Friday 11am-4pm