Disability services navigation
Last Updated: Sep 14, 2012
- America: History and Life
America: History and Life provides articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. This resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
- Google Scholar
This is a search engine that focuses on academic output. This link is proxied for UIC users off campus so you can download full text.
- African American Biographical Database
African American Biographical Database builds on the Black Biographical Dictionaries 1790-1950.
Reader's Guide to Periodical Literature
Call Number: Daley Reference 2nd Floor Index Tables AI3 .R48
Indexes popular/mainstream magazines from 1900-2010 (coverage of electronic database begins in 1980's). To see if UIC has a particular magazine, do a Journal/Magazine Title search in the Library Catalog. Use Worldcat Local to check holdings of other libraries.
- American Memory
The Library of Congress provides free access to sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps and sheet music.
- Black Thought and Culture
Non-fiction published works of leading African Americans, as well as interviews, speeches, essays, pamphlets, letters, etc. Includes the Black Panther Party newspaper.
- Women and Social Movements in the U.S. 1600-2000 - Scholars' edition
Collection combining primary documents with historical and scholarly analysis and teaching tools, all documenting women’s activism in public life.