Welcome! This guide is intended to help students conducting research in Gender and Women's Studies. The Gender and Women's Studies department defines the field as "an interdisciplinary understanding of gender constructions and sexual identities, their intersections with other social categories such as race and class, and economic and political implications of gender and sexual differences both in the U.S. and across the globe." Gay, lesbian, transgender studies, and queer theory are included in this department.
This guide contains information on major databases, books, catalogs, and other resources at the Richard J. Daley Library. If you need more help, feel free to visit the reference desk in the IDEA Commons (1st floor south), use our Ask-A-Librarian chat service (see widgets on this guide and throughout the library website) or schedule an individual appointment with a librarian.
Growing collection of electronic reference books -- dictionaries, encyclopedias, bilinguals, almanacs, handbooks, atlases, and directories.
A continually growing collection of electronic reference books -- dictionaries, encyclopedias, almanacs, handbooks, atlases and directories. There are bilinguals, general and specialized reference books, and all can be searched from one interface. See the title list on the website.
Oxford Reference Online is a digital reference shelf of topical encyclopedias, handbooks, thesauruses and dictionaries with emphasis on Literature and Western Civilization . Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
Try using a "Boolean search" when searching for articles. When doing a Boolean search, connect keywords or phrases with AND, OR, or NOT to get the desired result. Using AND or NOT will narrow your search, while using OR will broaden it. Typically, you will need to put phrases in quotation marks.
Feminism AND "African American": Finds books with both Feminism and African American
(Feminism OR Women) AND Science: Finds books with Feminism and Science, as well as books with Women and Science
Feminism NOT "United States": Finds books with Feminism, but not those that contain Feminism and United States
You might also want to browse the shelves for books (especially when looking for reference books). The following are some call numbers related to Gender and Women's Studies: