Selected Multidisciplinary Databases and Database Collections
Use the library's Research and Subject Guides to identify available databases in your discipline. The following list includes a few of the library's databases and vendors which cover a broad array of discplines.
This is a portal to a growing list of Proquest research products, including Theses & Dissertations, Historical Newspapers, ABI/Inform business collection, and more. Note: we do not subscribe to all the titles on the list.
This is a portal to a growing list of Proquest research products, including Theses & Dissertations, Historical Newspapers, ABI/Inform business collection, and more.
This is a search engine that focuses on academic output. This link is proxied for UIC users off campus so you can download full text.
This is a search engine that focuses on academic output. This link is proxied for remote UIC users. Google Scholar will recognize your UIC affiliation and provide links to download articles & more from the UIC Library collections.
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. A portion of this resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
Collections of back issues of scholarly journals in the following disciplines: arts and sciences, business, ecology and botany, and general science.
Provides downloadable doctoral dissertations originating from universities in the Big Ten conference from 1997 to present. More dissertations from other North American and European universities are available for preview and individual purchase. This is the new platform for Dissertations & Theses. All CSA and ProQuest databases will be migrated to this platform.
Dissertations and Theses contains full text of doctoral dissertations from universities in the Big Ten conference (Committee on Interinstitutional Cooperation or CIC) from 1997 to present. Further, D&T provides free 24-page previews for doctoral dissertations from accredited American and Canadian, selected British and European universities, covering all academic subjects. The non-CIC materials are available for individual purchase.
News, business, government and law; business journals; broadcast transcripts; case law; law reviews; company information, etc.
LexisNexis Academic provides full-text access to documents from national and regional newspapers, wire services, broadcast transcripts, international news, U.S. Federal and state case law, codes, regulations, legal news, law reviews, and international legal information; Shepard’s® Citations for all U.S. Supreme Court cases back to 1789; business news journals, company financial information, SEC filings and reports, and industry and market news.
Platform for a wide variety of journals and e-books across all fields of natural sciences, applied sciences and technology, and social sciences. To facilitate the browsing of titles, we have also organized ScienceDirect according to subject area (See below).
Note: Effective January 1, 2016, ScienceDirect will no longer support Internet Explorer 8 (IE8).
ScienceDirect is an electronic information service for a wide variety of journals and e-books across all fields of natural sciences, applied sciences and technology, and social sciences.