Disability services navigation
Last Updated: Feb 25, 2013
Welcome to your English 161 Course Guide. Librarians have put this guide together for you to highlight some useful resources for this class. We also encourage you to explore the rest of the library website.
- CQ : Congressional Quarterly Researcher
Provides snapshots of current affairs. Single-themed reports are researched and written by experienced observers from a range of viewpoints. From 1923 to present.
- Facts on File Current Events Reference Suite
Current events issues and news; from 1940 to present.
- Britannica Online
This resource was acquired with funds from the Library/IT Assessment.
Growing set of research tools: Encyclopaedia Britannica; Gateway to the Classics ; Quotable Quotes; Timelines and more.
- Access Science
Access Science is the online edition of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. Limited to 8 simultaneous users.
- Credo Reference
Growing collection of electronic reference books -- dictionaries, encyclopedias, bilinguals, almanacs, handbooks, atlases, and directories.
- Oxford Reference Online
Specialty encyclopedias, handbooks, thesauruses and dictionaries; emphasis on American Literature and Western Civilization. Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
The ollowing techniques can improve your success with online searching, especially when searching for articles in a library database.
- Enter phrases in quotes: "organic food", "local farmers", "trans fats"
- Use truncation symbols to search for alternate word endings: In most databases, entering farm* searches for farm, farming, farms, farmed farmer, and farmers
- If one term doesn't work, try a few others. Experiment with different vocabulary related to your topic. Brainstorm ideas for relevant keywords and use background sources such as wikipedia and encyclopedias for suggestions.