Freely available version hosted on the Department of Education website.
To get full text access in the interim, if you would like to request a PDF to be
returned online, please email ERICRequests@ed.gov with the record number
(such as ED263102). Documents will be returned on a rolling basis and may
take several weeks.
Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
PsycINFO contains bibliographic citations and abstracts from materials in the field of psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law. Updated weekly.
Political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.
This database is a bibliographic index with abstracts covering the full range of political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation. Coverage includes documents published worldwide in any of six languages: English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Spanish. The subject headings and abstracts are in English.
This is a search engine that focuses on academic output. This link is proxied for UIC users off campus so you can download full text.
This is a search engine that focuses on academic output. This link is proxied for remote UIC users. Google Scholar will recognize your UIC affiliation and provide links to download articles & more from the UIC Library collections.
Access to the Web of Science Core Collection which is the largest citation database in science, engineering, medicine and technology; also the social sciences, arts and humanities are represented. This resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
The Web of Science, provided by the Institute for Scientific Information (ISI) a division of Thomson Reuters, is an index of current and retrospective multidisciplinary information from 1975 on. The bibliographic records from approximately 8,700 high impact research journals are mostly linked to full-text articles.
Scopus contains over 20,500 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide with 49 million records, 78% with abstracts. It Includes over 5.3 million conference papers and provides 100% Medline coverage with interoperability with ScienceDirect, Engineering Village and Reaxys,
Digitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines. A portion of this resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
Collections of back issues of scholarly journals in the following disciplines: arts and sciences, business, ecology and botany, and general science.
Provides downloadable doctoral dissertations originating from universities in the Big Ten conference from 1997 to present. More dissertations from other North American and European universities are available for preview and individual purchase. This is the new platform for Dissertations & Theses. All CSA and ProQuest databases will be migrated to this platform.
Dissertations and Theses contains full text of doctoral dissertations from universities in the Big Ten conference (Committee on Interinstitutional Cooperation or CIC) from 1997 to present. Further, D&T provides free 24-page previews for doctoral dissertations from accredited American and Canadian, selected British and European universities, covering all academic subjects. The non-CIC materials are available for individual purchase.
Finding E-Journals by Title
Click on the blue E-Journals tab on the library web site or use the search options on theJournals page to find E-Journals available at UIC.
Discover the World of library content
Take a look at the Summon guide to learn more about finding articles, books, and more.
Tips for Searching Article Databases
enter phrases in quotes ("standardized tests")
use truncation/wildcard symbols to search for multiple word endings (technol* searches for technology and technological)
search by descriptor/subject heading to find fewer results more focused on your topic. Subject headings are listed in each record and some databases have a built-in thesaurus for finding preferred terms
use AND to combine terms and narrow searches: "language attrition" and children looks for articles incorporating both terms, narrowing the search
"school leaders" OR "school principals" looks for articles incorporating either term, broadening the search
You can incorporate both AND and OR into the same search:
("school leaders" or "school principals") and power
Use the Help By Appointment form to set up a one-one-one research consultation with a librarian