Learning Objectives
Ms. Darling: Managing a Chronic Disease
- List and describe five differences between type I and type II diabetes mellitus (i.e., may be epidemiologic, genetic, molecular, etc.), and two similarities. Explain insulin resistance using the terms insulin receptors, glucose transporters, & insulin blood levels. Define the metabolic syndrome.
- Explain what Hemoglobin A1C (HgbA1c) is and how is it formed. Describe what leads to elevated HgbA1c levels and why HgbA1c levels are useful therapeutic guides.
- Briefly describe the development of the hyperosmolar state in the type II diabetic. Explain how a diabetic may become volume depleted (or, dehydrated). Ms. Darling describes some symptoms that suggest that she might be volume depleted: what are they? Define orthostatic hypotension, and explain why it is important to check for this in a patient suspected to be volume depleted. Demonstrate by role playing in your group how you would check for this during a physical exam.
- Distinguish the difference between diabetic microvascular disease and macrovascular disease. Discuss, at the cellular level, three pathways by which hyperglycemia could cause microvascular end-organ disease leading to retinopathy, nephropathy, and neuropathy. Focus on the main pathway, accelerated nonenzymatic glycosylation.
- Define macrovascular disease, and list the risk factors for coronary artery disease. Why is it postulated that diabetics are at increased risk for macrovascular disease? Role play in your group how you would advise a patient, such as Ms. Darling, to minimize her risk of macrovascular disease: give her three specific instructions.
- Briefly explain what biochemical changes related to acute hyperglycemia caused Ms. Darling’s visual symptoms, and explain why this is not due to microvascular end-organ disease.
- Discuss three secondary preventive screening procedures recommended for patients with diabetes.
Library Toolbox
Find books and more by searching the library catalog:
Books from other Illinois libraries may be found and requested via the I-Share Catalog.
Find full text
Browse E-journals A-Z List
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Full text for a known article
links to full text information from within library database results.
My Account
Connect to My Account in the Library Catalog
My Interlibrary Loans
UIC faculty, staff and current students can use My Interlibrary Loans to request materials that are not available through the UIC Library.
RefWorks
Create your own citation database and quickly build bibliographies with 
Information Services
Ask a Librarian
LHS-Chicago: (312) 996-9163
LHS-Peoria: (309) 671-8491
CLHS-Rockford: (815) 395-5650
LHS-Urbana: (217) 244-0607
Text a Librarian: 773-442-2757 Send a text (SMS) message from your mobile phone to the number listed above Monday-Friday from 11am-4pm.
IM Reference available
Monday-Friday 11am-4pm

Loading Video Clip...
Electronic Resources
AccessMedicine is an online system licensed by the UIC Library which includes the online full-text of 10 major medical reference books such as Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine and CURRENT Medical Diagnosis & Treatment. Topic searches can be performed across titles in the search box at the top of the screen.
ACP Medicine provides authoritative clinical information across the 15 sub-specialties of internal medicine including Metabolism and Endocrinology. Once you select ACP Medicine, click on the Table of Contents tab at the top. Then click on the arrow to the left of ACP Medicine which will expand the contents for browsing. You can also search across the contents through the search box at the top of the screen. For example, try searching for diabetes and complications.
MD Consult is an online system licensed by the UIC Library which offers over 50 online full-text medical reference books including Williams Textbook of Endocrinology. The books can be browsed individually by title, table of contents, or the back-of-the-book indexes. Topic searches can also be performed across all titles.
Recommended Books
Diabetes management in primary care - Jeff Unger
WK815 U57d 2007
Ellenberg & Rifkin's Diabetes Mellitus - Daniel Porte, Jr., Robert S. Sherwin, Alain Baron
WK810 E451 2003
Greenspan's basic & clinical endocrinology
WK102 G815 2007
Joslin's Diabetes Mellitus - C. Ronald Kahn ... [et al.].
WK810 J83d 2005
Joslin’s diabetes deskbook : a guide for primary care providers - Richard S. Beaser and the staff of Joslin Diabetes Center
WK815 J83 2007
Medical management of type 1 diabetes - Francine R. Kaufman
WK810 M4879 2008
Medical management of type 2 diabetes - Charles F. Burant
WK810 M48791 2008
Metabolic syndrome - Christopher D. Byrne and Sarah H. Wild
WK820 M5864 2005
Williams Textbook of Endocrinology - Henry M. Kronenberg
WK100 W721 2008
Pharmacotherapy of diabetes
e-book


Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait