Library Toolbox
Find books and more by searching the library catalog:
Books from other Illinois libraries may be found and requested via the I-Share Catalog.
Find full text
Browse E-journals A-Z List
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z
Full text for a known article
links to full text information from within library database results.
My Account
Connect to My Account in the Library Catalog
My Interlibrary Loans
UIC faculty, staff and current students can use My Interlibrary Loans to request materials that are not available through the UIC Library.
RefWorks
Create your own citation database and quickly build bibliographies with 
Free Web Resources
Both depth and accuracy are highly variable, but the internet can be a good place to find information on nurse theorists and nursing theory. Here are some general sites to get you started.
- ANA Hall of Fame Many prominent nurse theorists have been inducted into the American Nurses Association Hall of Fame. Biographies and often, pictures, are available at this site.
- Clayton College and State University Department of Nursing: Nursing Theory Page This web site is divided into sections for over 30 nurse theorists, including Boykin and Schoenhofer, Fitzpatrick, and Hall. Each section contains at least one link to a comprehensive web page dedicated to a theorist. Some of the links contain online chat
- Nurse-Philosophy Listserv Online forum for discussing philosophical issues in nursing.
- Nursing Theory Network Site with extensive information on theory, models, history, and resources.
- Nursing Theory Page from NurseScribe Information on nurse theorists and different health care models, with some related external links and a study guide.
- Nursing Theory Page from Hahn School of Nursing and Science Collaborative effort by an international group interested in developing a collection of resources about nursing theories throughout the world.
Information Services
Ask a Librarian
LHS-Chicago: (312) 996-9163
LHS-Peoria: (309) 671-8491
CLHS-Rockford: (815) 395-5650
LHS-Urbana: (217) 244-0607
Text a Librarian: 773-442-2757 Send a text (SMS) message from your mobile phone to the number listed above Monday-Friday from 11am-4pm.
IM Reference available
Monday-Friday 11am-4pm

Loading Video Clip...


Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait