Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Library Home Library Services Library Collections About Us

Admin Sign In 

LGBT Health  Tags: health_sciences medicine lgbt  

Databases, texts and clinical resources for lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender and intersex health
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://researchguides.uic.edu/lgbthealth  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Research Databases             Print Page
  
 

PubMed@UIC

Searching note for GLBTI in PubMed:

"Lesbian" translates to ("homosexuality, female"[MeSH Terms] OR ("homosexuality"[All Fields] AND "female"[All Fields]) OR "female homosexuality"[All Fields] OR "lesbian"[All Fields]).

"Gay" picks up only "gay"[All Fields]. Add terms "homosexuality, male"[MeSH Terms] OR ("homosexuality"[All Fields] AND "male"[All Fields]) OR "male homosexuality"[All Fields].

Search the MeSH database for other specific terms. "Transgender" and "intersex" are not MeSH Subject Headings, but "sex differentiation disorders" and "gender identity" are. Add the MeSH terms to text words such as "gay," "transgender," "queer", etc.

Utilize the Also try: box for more search options and view the Search details to see how the search was performed.

 

More Databases

Can't find what you're looking for? Check the Database A-Z list.

 

LGBT-specific Research Databases

Gender Watch searches may be limited "to scholarly literature" in basic search and "" in advanced search.

Research Databases

UIC Research Guides

 
 

Information Services

Ask a Librarian

LHS-Chicago: (312) 996-9163

LHS-Peoria: (309) 671-8490

CLHS-Rockford: (815) 395-5650

LHS-Urbana: (217) 244-0607

Email reference

Research help

IM Reference available
Monday-Friday 11am-4pm


Loading Video Clip...