Public Health

PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960s to present.

CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.

A good alternative (or supplement) to PubMed; especially strong in international research and drug & disease coverage. From 1974 to present.

The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration

Trip is a clinical search engine designed to find high quality research evidence to support clinical practice and care. It simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information.

Note: You must download the Cisco Anyconnect VPN to access Trip Pro Database from off campus. Here are instructions for Windows, MAC, Linux, Android, and IOS users:

Windows
MacOS
Linux
Android
iOS

Political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.

From LexisNexis, this database features more than 15,000 news, business, and legal sources from LexisNexis, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, full-text law review articles, thousands of full-text news sources, and more. Search here for review articles summarizing the debate around a given policy issue.

EconLit with Full Text contains all of the indexing available in EconLit, plus full text for nearly 600 journals, including the American Economic Association journals with no embargo.

Provided by the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research at Cornell University, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of public opinion poll data with results from 1935 to the present. Roper iPoll contains nearly 800,000 questions and over 23,000 datasets from both U.S. and international polling firms. Surveys cover any number of topics including, social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, science, the environment, and much more. When available, results charts, demographic crosstabs and full datasets are provided for immediate download.

Another good resource for finding literature across a variety of disciplines, as well as tracking cited references.

Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences

An interdisciplinary web search for scholarly materials, including journal articles, books, dissertations, and more. Accessing Google Scholar through this guide will provide direct links to UIC's full text journal subscriptions.

ERIC is the world's largest education database. Search here for any public health topic that overlaps into the education discipline, including e.g. health outreach to college students, the school-to-prison pipeline, or school nutrition policy.

Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc. Consider searching here if you're investigating the human motivations, attitudes, or behaviors behind a particular public health issue.

International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.

Provides over 1,000 core texts as well as thousands of additional videos, cases, datasets, tools, and how-to guides for research methods across the disciplines.