This is the "About" page of the "UIC Library Faculty Profile: Deborah Blecic, Associate Professor and Bibliographer for the Life and Health Sciences" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

UIC Library Faculty Profile: Deborah Blecic, Associate Professor and Bibliographer for the Life and Health Sciences  

Last Updated: May 23, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.uic.edu/blecic Print Guide RSS Updates

About Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Biography

I joined the Library Faculty in 1991 in a visiting position, and was appointed as Assistant Professor and Bibliographer for the Life and Health Sciences in 1994.  I was promoted to Associate Professor in 2000.  In 2013 I began a new position as Collections Coordinator for the UIC Library.  I earned my MLS from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.  

 

Research

My research has focused on the use and adoption of electronic resources by library patrons, issues for libraries in gathering and interpreting electronic resource use data, and the use of the data to inform library services and collections.    

 

Librarianship

As Collections Coordinator, I coordinate all aspects of collections development for the UIC Library.  Currently I work with 26 selectors.  I train new selectors, allocate and manage the UIC Library Collections Budget, and directly manage interdisciplianary resources and the library science collection.  I am the UIC liaison to five library consortia, and work with consortia on joint purchases of electronic resources and other projects.  I also manage collections statistics and assessment.

Previously I have served as Bibliographer for the Life and Health Sciences, Acting Bibliographer for Engineering, Mathematics, and the Physical Sciences, and Acting Science Librarian. 

 

Service

I have served library, campus, and university committees, as well as the UIC Faculty Senate.  I have served as the library's representative to numerous consortia.  Most of my professional service has been within the Medical Library Association, and I served on the editorial board for Science & Technology Libraries.  

Author Information

Profile Image
Deborah Blecic
Contact Info
Associate Professor and Bibliographer for the Life and Health Sciences
2-180 Daley Library
M/C 234
312-413-0033
Send Email
 
UIC Home

Copyright © 2013 The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois.

  1. Contact us |
  2. Web Privacy Notice |
  3. Having problems accessing this site? Contact user support.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip