Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Library Home Library Services Library Collections About Us

Admin Sign In 

Databases A-Z  Tags: a-z_list acceptable_use new licensed_resources  

Comprehensive list of databases and other electronic resources provided for UIC users.
Last update: Nov 20th, 2009 URL: http://researchguides.uic.edu/databases  Print Guide  RSS Updates

NEW!            Print Page
  

Evaluation Trials

Adding New Materials

Requesting new resources for the Library's collection: Tell us the title of a desired book or online resource. A subject bibliographer will respond.

 

What's New?

  • Access Anesthesiology  
      
    Curricular and clinical tools for certification and recertification in pain management, critical care, and perioperative medicine, backed by an esteemed editorial board. May 18, 2009
  • Access Emergency Medicine  
      
    AccessEmergency Medicine is a complete online service that allows users to quickly search the diagnosis and treatment of a broad range of emergency cases. Reference sources, illustrations, atlases with videos. May 18, 2009
  • AccessPharmacy  
      
    This resource was acquired with funds from the Library/IT Assessment. A curricular resource designed for pharmacy education that contains 24 core textbooks and more. Jan. 20, 2009
  • ACCRA Cost of Living Index  
      
    Statistical package of cost-of-living index from 1990 to present. August 6, 2009
  • Anesthesiology E-books from Ovid  
      
    Lippincott, Williams and Wilkins textbooks in medicine with an emphasis on Anesthesiology. March 12, 2009
  • Anthropology Plus  
    Citations to articles in anthropology, archaeology, and interdisciplinary studies, bringing together Anthropological Literature from Harvard and Anthropological Index from the Royal Anthropological Institute of the UK. July 1, 2009
  • CAMIO (Catalog of Art Museum Images Online)  
      
    This is a database of high-quality art images contributed and described by leading museums, all rights-cleared for educational use. March 23, 2009
  • CQ Congressional Quarterly Weekly  
      
    Congressional Quarterly's weekly magazine on current government, commerce and politics (1983 to present). August 4, 2009
  • CSA Illustrata: Natural Sciences  
      
    This resource was acquired with funds from the Library/IT Assessment. Find tables, figures, graphs and charts from scholarly and technical literature. January 13, 2009.
  • CSA Illustrata: Technology  
      
    This resource was acquired with funds from the Library/IT Assessment. Find tables, figures, graphs & charts from scholarly and technical literature. Jan. 13, 2009
  • DynaMed  
      
    Clinical reference tool intended for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the point-of-care. May 15, 2009
  • ECCO I & II : Eighteenth Century Collections Online  
      
    Full text of significant works of fiction and nonfiction printed in Great Britain from 1700-1800, along with thousands of important works from the Americas. Cross-searchable with EEBO: Early English Books Online (1475-1700) Feb. 3, 2009
  • Encyclopedia of African American History, 1896 to the Present  
      
    This encyclopedia traces the transition from the Reconstruction Era to the present. June 19, 2009
  • GIDEON - Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network  
      
    GIDEON is a clinical database used for diagnosis and reference in the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy. June 1, 2009
  • HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index  
      
    HAPI Online combines current information about Latin America with in-depth coverage from 1970 to the present. This resource was acquired with funds from the Library/IT Assessment. Nov. 16, 2009
  • JBI Connect  
      
    Provided by the Joanna Briggs Institute, JBI Connect is a clinical network of evidence-based medicine and nursing for care and therapeutics. March 19, 2009
  • Latin American Newspapers  
      
    A growing collection of Latin American historical newspapers provided by a partnership between Center for Research Libraries and Newsbank. May 18, 2009
  • Literature Criticism Online  
      
    Ten cross-searchable literary databases offering articles, chapters, critiques, reviews and essays on world literature. Complete from Vol. 1 to present. Feb. 3, 2009
  • Music Index Online  
      
    The Music Index is a subject-author guide to music literature, reviews, and news. June 23, 2009
  • Natural Standard  
      
    Natural Standard Research Collaboration provides high-quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative medicine (CAM). Oct. 21, 2009
  • New York Review of Books  
      
    Book reviews from 1963 to the present. August 15, 2009
  • Nursing Reference Center  
      
    This database complements CINAHL; providing the most recent clinical evidence to nurses and other health care professionals, directly at the point-of-care. May 15, 2009
  • OAIster  
      
    This is a catalog of 20 million items in over 1,000 digital repositories. These resources, often hidden from search engine users behind web scripts, are known as the "deep web." March 23, 2009
  • Patent Chemistry  
      
    Chemistry information from English language organic chemistry and life science patent documents published since 1976. It is united with Beilstein/Gmelin organic & inorganic chemistry databases in Reaxys. Oct 16, 2009
  • Reaxys  
      
    Reaxys is a new structure that unifies Beilstein, Gmelin and Patent Chemistry databases. It also includes journal literature (1771 - present) and patent literature (1869 - present) along with search, analysis and workflow tools. Oct. 16, 2009
  • Rock's Backpages  
      
    Archive of reviews, interviews and features on rock music artists, by the world’s best rock writers and from the most influential music publications. All content on the site is protected by copyright laws and may not be redistributed to non-UIC users. August 25, 2009
  • Science Translational Medicine  
      
    Sci TM is a new journal first published online Oct. 7, 2009. UIC users have full access rights plus you can create a personal login to save your articles in personal folders, save searches and participate in peer-to-peer networks. Oct. 9, 2009
  • The Sixties  
      
    Primary documents, books, photos and personal narratives for research into American history, culture and politics between 1960–1974. Feb. 23, 2009
  • SourceOECD  
      
    The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development collection of statistical databases, books and papers on economics, industries, trade and development worldwide. August 3, 2009
  • Transportation Research Information Service (TRIS)  
    World's largest and most comprehensive bibliographic resource on transportation information. May 4, 2009
  • Victorian Popular Culture: A Portal  
      
    This resource was acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment. Digitized, searchable collection of rare printed sources describing popular entertainment in America, Britain and Europe from 1779 to 1930. July 7, 2009
 

Acceptable Uses

UIC Library purchases access to licensed electronic resources on behalf of the University of Illinois at Chicago. Under the terms of most of our license agreements, use is typically available to students, faculty and staff, and walk-in visitors while on the premises. The UIC Library also provides access to free resources that permit unrestricted access.

Authorized users may typically download, print and copy individual articles, book chapters or other items, and may provide links to items on a publisher's website. Authorized users may not:

  • systematically download or distribute substantial portions of information (e.g. download all articles from a journal issue) or utilize agents such as scripts or robots to retrieve information;
  • post an article or item on the open Web without permission;
  • remove, obscure or modify any copyright notices.

If you have any question whether your intended use of materials is permitted under the Library’s license agreements, or for help with copyright compliance, email copyright@uic.edu.