- S & P (Standard & Poor's) NetAdvantage (See also: NetAdvantage)

S & P NetAdvantage is a widely used source for investment research and commentary.
- SAGE Premier Full Text

Platform for journals in journals in communications studies, criminology, education, nursing, political science, psychology, sociology, urban studies & planning, and more.
- SAGE Reference E-Books

Growing collection of topic and subject encyclopedias online.
- Sanborn Maps of Illinois (1867-1970)

Sanborn fire insurance maps are large scale plans of cities and towns, drawn at a scale of 50 feet to an inch.
- Saskia Art Collection

Digital images of paintings, sculture and architecture from important collections worldwide. Includes images, figures and illustrations from 19 renowned art textbooks.
- Science Citation Index [SCI] - ISI Web of Knowledge

Access to articles found in scholarly journals in science and technology (1975 to present)
- Science of Synthesis

see also Houben-Weyl Methods of Molecular Transformations
- Science - Knowledge Environments and Journals

Access to the journals Science, Science Translational Medicine (New!) and Science Signaling plus knowledge environments for Signaling Transduction (STKE) and Science of Aging (SAGE).
- Science's Next Wave

Weekly news about scientific training, career development, and the science job market
- ScienceDirect

Platform for a wide variety of journals and e-books across all fields of natural sciences, applied sciences and technology, and social sciences.
- ScienceDirect E-books in Chemistry

A growing collection of e-books series in Chemistry. From 2001 to present.
- ScienceDirect E-Books in Life Sciences

Growing collection of 36 e-books series in life sciences. From 2001 to present.
- ScienceDirect Handbooks in Economics

Each handbook presents a self-contained survey of the current state of the field in a specific sub-field of economics.
- SciFinder Scholar - Client Version

NOTE: Scifinder no longer uses installed client software. If you have been using the client, you must register for the Web version below.
- Scifinder Scholar - Registration for ALL users

Register for Scifinder using your UIC email address.
- Scifinder Scholar - Web Version New!

Login here for the new Web version. CAS SciFinder Scholar is the premier chemistry database produced by the American Chemical Society.
- Seventeenth & Eighteenth Century Newspapers

Collection of 17th and 18th century English news media, published mostly in London, some provincial, Irish and Scottish, and a few colonial.
- Short Story Index

Detailed index of stories and short story collections from 1984 to present.
- SimplyMap

Mapping application that allows users to customize interactive maps & reports using thousands of data variables.
- The Sixties

Primary documents and scholarly commentary for research into American culture, history and politics during the years 1960 to 1974.
- Social Sciences Abstracts

Contains abstracts of social sciences publications.
- Social Sciences Citation Index [SSCI]- ISI Web of Knowledge

Bibliographic information and cited references with links to full text when available. Covers scholarly journals on social sciences (1975 to present)
- Social Services Abstracts

Provides current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- Social Work Abstracts

Covers social work and other related journals on topics such as homelessness, AIDS, child and family welfare, aging, substance abuse, legislation, community organization, and more. 1977 to present.
- Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics Journals (SIAM)

Journals focused on fields related to industrial and applied mathematics - 1997 to present.
- Sociological Abstracts

International literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Sociology: A SAGE Full-text Collection

Journals focused on contemporary sociology, classical sociology, consumer culture, ethnic studies, gender studies, leisure studies, social theory and labor studies. 1952 to present
- SourceOECD

The Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development's books, papers and statistics on economics, industries, trade and development worldwide. Tables and charts can be downloaded in Excel from within e-books.
- SpringerLink E-Books

A growing collection of e-books published by Springer and Humana Press in copyright years 2004 to present, with some earlier entries.
- SpringerLink Journals

Platform for journals in scientific, technical, and medical fields, published by Springer-Verlag from 1997 to present.
- Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage (See also: NetAdvantage)

S & P NetAdvantage is a widely used source for investment research and commentary.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy

Open access encyclopedia is written by over 1,000 professional philosophers.
- Stat!Ref Online: Electronic Medical Library

Collection of searchable e-reference books includes ACP's PIER: Physicians' Information and Education Resource, the USP DI, the DSM IV, AHFS Drug Information and Stedman’s Dictionary.
- Stat-USA (State of the Nation)

Financial and economic data gathered throughout the federal government. Includes GLOBUS & NTDB for worldwide economic data.
- State Academies of Science Abstracts (SASA)

Provides references to studies specific to the individual states and regions of the U.S.
- Stokstad's Art History images - Saskia Art Collection

Contains more than 2100 images from the popular art textbook, Art History, 2nd edition by Marilyn Stokstad.
- Supreme Court Collection - CQ Press

Historical analyses and expert commentary along with primary sources of Supreme Court decisions, biographies of Supreme Court justices, Supreme Court institutional history, and the U.S. Constitution.