Subject and Course Guides: Health Sciences Gateway: Books & E-Books

E-books Collections

AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine features core textbooks for medical education, with additional news and resources. Includes captions.
Note: we don't have complete access to all the case files.
AccessPediatrics
AccessPediatrics provides access to text books, atlases, videos, and other resources related to pediatrics, information necessary for completing evaluations, diagnoses, and case management decisions, as well as for pursuing research or self-assessment and board review. Includes captions. Limited to 10 simultaneous users.
AccessPharmacy
Access Pharmacy contains core textbooks and reference works in pharmacy and pharmacology. Includes captions for videos and transcripts for animations.
AccessSurgery
Comprehensive online surgery resource aimed at medical students. Includes access to leading surgical textbooks, such as Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery and Zollinger’s Atlas of Surgical Operations.
ClinicalKey
ClinicalKey is a peer reviewed, evidence based point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and healthcare professionals. It provides a unique combination of electronic books, medical journals, First Consult, Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, clinical trials, MEDLINE, and abstracts from PubMed. Does not include captions or transcripts.

Note: ClinicalKey policy states that no more than 50% of book content (or 1/2 total chapters) may be downloaded and stored in a 24-hour period or the user will be locked out and administrator notified
It is updated daily. Searches can be filtered by content type, by specialty, by time and relevance.
Credo Reference
Provides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
Current Protocols
Current Protocols provides access to the large collection of authoritative, peer-reviewed, regularly-updated research methods and topical overviews in the life sciences. In January 2021, the publisher merged all individual legacy protocol titles into a new title, Current Protocols. The UIC Library only subscribes to:

Current Protocols in Immunology
Current Protocols in Molecular Biology

The archives for both sections can be accessed by selecting Browse Articles and clicking on Issue Archive.
DSM-V Library
This is the newest edition of the Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders (DSM-5). It includes DSM-5 Handbook of Differential Diagnosis, DSM-5 Clinical Cases, Guía de consulta de los criterios diagnósticos del DSM-5, and DSM-5 Legacy.
DSM Legacy Collection
The collection has previous editions of Diagnostic and Statistical Manual of Mental Disorders for reference and archival purposes. They include DSM-I, DSM-I Special Supplement, DSM-II, DSM-II 6th printing change, DSM-III, DSM-III-R, DSM-IV, and DSM-IV-TR.
Ebook Central
Ebooks from a wide range of publishers covering many subjects, including business, economics, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
LWW Health Library
LWW Health Library meets the needs of educators and institutions by providing a single portal to foundational and clinical science content, as well as multimedia ancillaries for teaching and learning.
LWW Health Library Orthopaedic Surgery
LWW Health Library delivers health science and clinical content directly to faculty, residents, and staff through a single portal – providing interactive online access to essentials texts, procedural videos, and images.
Medical Letter
Independent, critical evaluations of drugs for physicians and other health professionals. Also Adverse Drug Interactions system and Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy.
The Medical Letter on Drugs and Therapeutics and more...(New Rochelle, NY) provides critical evaluations of drugs for physicians and other members of the health professions. Also online are Adverse Drug Interactions, a browser-based program for selecting up to 12 drugs and generating a report about potential adverse interactions; and the Handbook of Antimicrobial Therapy, regularly updated and now in e-book (PDF) format.
NCBI Bookshelf
Free access to books and documents in life science and healthcare from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
Oxford Scholarship Online
Contains select titles on neuroscience, biology and public health and epidemiology from Oxford's publishing program.
R2 Digital Library
Provides online and fully searchable health sciences reference works.
The Rittenhouse Publishing R2 Library provides online and fully searchable health sciences reference works. The Library licenses two simultaneous users per book. After 15 minutes, your search session will expire, so you might want to create a login and save any results you need. You may print up to 10 sections or chapters per session. Do not attempt to download the entire contents of these books.
SAGE Reference E-Books
Growing collection of topic and subject encyclopedias online. Note: To search only UIC subscribed titles, please click the Available to me button on the right.
This is a portal to over 60 topical and subject encyclopedias online.
SAGE Research Methods
Provides over 1,000 core texts as well as thousands of additional videos, cases, datasets, tools, and how-to guides for research methods across the disciplines.
Springer Nature Experiments
Find, evaluate and implement protocols and methods across the life sciences. Includes Springer Protocols, Nature Protocols, and Nature Methods. UIC's subscription does not include Nature Reviews Methods Primers.

Select E-Books

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
Current edition of one of the most widely used resources in clinical medicine and research.
This database is the current edition of Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine, one of the most widely used resources in clinical medicine and research. Updated daily with expanded features.
Red Book Online 2021-2024- American Academy of Pediatrics
AAP Red Book® provides clinically useful information on the manifestations, etiology, epidemiology, diagnosis and treatment of more than 200 childhood infectious diseases. It includes an electronic image library.
The Committee on Infectious Diseases publishes the Red Book, containing current AAP recommendations for diagnosing, treating and preventing infectious diseases in infants, children and adolescents.
Red Book Online from Micromedex
Red Book Online is the essential resource healthcare professionals reach for every day to find the latest drug product pricing and packaging information on prescription and over-the-counter drug products.
Note: To access Red Book, go to Other Tools and click on the drop down box.
Wiley Current Protocols
Current Protocols provides online editions of laboratory manuals in chemistry, life sciences, and medicine and healthcare. To ensure easy duplication in any lab, the protocols are thoroughly field tested and scrutinized by our editorial boards. Titles are updated quarterly to reflect the latest innovations in laboratory procedures as they occur.

Books and More

Find books and more by searching the library catalog:

Books from other Illinois libraries may be found and requested via the CARLI I-Share Catalog.

E-Book Search

Find E-books

E-books may also be found in the Library Catalog. After performing a catalog search, you may narrow your search to E-books by selecting "Electronic" and "Book" from the choices on the right side of the page. Or, try the new E-books search, below.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Health Sciences Gateway: Books & E-Books

E-books Collections

Select E-Books

Books and More

E-Book Search

Find E-books

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library