Reference Books
The following call numbers represent where you can find popular reference or reserve books:
Dictionaries & Encyclopedias
QV 13 Pharmacy
W 13 Medicine
WA 13 Public Health
WB 13 Medical Encyclopedias
WU 13 Dentistry
WY 13 Nursing
Directories
QV 22-22.1 Pharmacy
W 22-22.1 Health Professions
WA 22-22.1 Public Health
WB 22-22.1 Medicine
WU 22-22.1 Dentistry
WX 22-22.1 Hospitals
WY 22-22.1 Nursing
Drug Information
QV 738-738.1 Pharmacopoeias
QV 772 Non-Prescription Drugs
Ethics
QV 21 Pharmacy
W 50 Medical
WA 21 Public Health
WB 60 Bioethics, Clinical Ethics
WU 50 Dentistry
WY 85 Nursing
Laboratory Techniques
QY 25 Manuals
QY 39 Handbooks
Statistics
QV 16 Pharmacy
W 16 Health Professions
WA 16, WA 900 Public Health
WB 16 Medicine
WU 16 Dentistry
WX 16 Hospitals
WY 31 Nursing
Style Manuals/Writing Guides
WZ 345 APA, AMA
Terminology
QV 15 Pharmacy
W 15 Health Professions
WA 15 Nursing
WB 15 Medicine
WU 17 Dentistry
WY 16 Nursing
E-reference Collections
- AccessMedicine

- American Academy of Pediatrics Red Book Online
Current AAP recommendations for diagnosing, treating and preventing infectious diseases in infants, children and adolescents. - Credo Reference
Includes dictionaries such as Dorland's, Mosby's, and Tabers. - Mental Measurements Yearbook
Provides reviews and information about commercially-available standardized tests in developmental psychology, behavioral assessment, neuropsychology and education. - MD Consult

- Nursing Reference Center

- Online Metabolic and Molecular Bases of Inherited Disease (OMMBID)
Information about genetic disorders and diseases as well as pathophysiology and treatment. - Oxford Reference Online Premium Collection
Includes medical and allied health dictionaries. - SAGE Reference E-books

- Stat!Ref Online: Electronic Medical Library

Selected Dictionaries and Directories
- AMA Doctor Finder

- Dictionary of Medical Acronyms & Abbreviations
- DIRLINE : Directory of Health Organizations
Lists organizations willing to respond to public inquiries in their specialty areas, including toxicology, occupational health, and more. - Dorland’s Illustrated Medical Dictionary
- Meeting Index

- Mosby’s Dental Dictionary
- Mosby’s Dictionary of Medicine, Nursing, & Health Professionals
- Pharmaceutical Medicine Dictionary
- Taber’s Cyclopedic Medical Dictionary
Style Guides
Style guides are often located in reference and are for use in the library, please check record for more information.
AMA manual of style: a guide for authors and editors
Call Number: WZ345 A511 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 0195176332- Citing medicine: the NLM style guide for authors, editors, and publishers - Karen Patrias, Daniel L. Wendling
E-book
Health professionals style manual - Shirley Fondiller, Barbara J. Nerone
Call Number: WZ39 F673h 2007
ISBN/ISSN: 0826102077
Publication manual of the American Psychological Association
Call Number: WZ345 P976 2001
ISBN/ISSN: 1557987912
5th ed.
Successful scientific writing: a step-by-step guide for the biological and medical sciences - Janice R. Mathews, Robert W. Matthews
Call Number: WZ345 M439s 2008
ISBN/ISSN: 0521699274
Additional Reference Resources
Information Services
Ask a Librarian
LHS-Chicago: (312) 996-9163
LHS-Peoria: (309) 671-8491
CLHS-Rockford: (815) 395-5650
LHS-Urbana: (217) 244-0607
Text a Librarian: 773-442-2757 Send a text (SMS) message from your mobile phone to the number listed above Monday-Friday from 11am-4pm.
IM Reference available
Monday-Friday 11am-4pm

Loading Video Clip...


Loading content... please wait

Loading content... please wait