Subject Guide
Help
- Medical Words: A TutorialThis tutorial teaches you about medical words. You'll learn about how to put together parts of medical words.
Finding Books in the Library
To find books by title, author, or subject, search our Library Catalog.
Books at the UIC Library of the Health Sciences are shelved by the National Library of Medicine Classification system. Here is a select list of where you can find books related to issues dealing with rural health:
- W Health Services
- WA Public Health
- WB Practice of Medicine
E-books Collections
- AccessMedicine
AccessMedicine features core textbooks for medical education, with additional news and resources. Includes captions.
Note: we don't have complete access to all the case files. - AccessPharmacy
Access Pharmacy contains core textbooks and reference works in pharmacy and pharmacology. Includes captions for videos and transcripts for animations.
- AccessSurgery
Comprehensive online surgery resource aimed at medical students. Includes access to leading surgical textbooks, such as Schwartz’s Principles of Surgery and Zollinger’s Atlas of Surgical Operations.
- ClinicalKeyClinicalKey is a peer reviewed, evidence based point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and healthcare professionals. It provides a unique combination of electronic books, medical journals, First Consult, Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, clinical trials, MEDLINE, and abstracts from PubMed. Does not include captions or transcripts.
Note: ClinicalKey policy states that no more than 50% of book content (or 1/2 total chapters) may be downloaded and stored in a 24-hour period or the user will be locked out and administrator notified - Credo ReferenceProvides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
- Ebook CentralEbooks from a wide range of publishers covering many subjects, including business, economics, technology and engineering, humanities, life and physical science, and social and behavioral sciences.
- NCBI BookshelfFree access to books and documents in life science and healthcare from the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI).
- R2 Digital LibraryProvides online and fully searchable health sciences reference works.
- SAGE Reference E-BooksGrowing collection of topic and subject encyclopedias online. Note: To search only UIC subscribed titles, please click the Available to me button on the right.
Ask a Librarian
Ask a Librarian
LHS-Chicago: (312) 996-9163
LHS-Peoria: (309) 671-8490
CLHS-Rockford: (815) 395-5650
LHS-Urbana: (217) 244-0607
IM Reference available
Monday-Friday 11am-4pm