This is the "Home" page of the "Peoria Student Life Collection" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

Peoria Student Life Collection  

An online bibliography of the Student Life Collection found in the Library of the Health Sciences - Peoria.
Last Updated: Jun 9, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.uic.edu/peoria-student-life Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome to the Student Life Collection

The Student Life Collection is a small collection of materials selected to help nursing and medical students:

  • Navigate the world of a student in the medical professions,
  • Take care of yourself both physically and mentally during what can be a very challenging phase of your life, and 
  • Understand what it means to be entering the medical field.

Titles include cookbooks, interview guides, stories from active medical professionals, and much more.

In this guide, the titles and resources have been divided into general categories which we hope will help you find what you are looking for faster. However, many topics overlap, and we recommend browsing the entire collection when you have time.

 

Location

You can find the Student Life Collection in the Library's Reading Area near the windows.  Use the icons on the image to discover some of the offerings available.

 

New Titles

New titles are placed on the new book shelf for 6 weeks.

Cover Art
Aging with Grace - David N. Snowdon; David Snowdon
Call Number: WT 155 S674a 2002
ISBN: 0553380923
Publication Date: 2002-04-30
Added to the collection 02/2014

Cover Art
Changing the Way We Die - Fran Smith; Sheila Himmel; Joan Halifax (Foreword by)
Call Number: WB310 S647c 2013
ISBN: 1936740516
Publication Date: 2013-11-19
Added to the collection 01/2014.

Cover Art
Complications - Atul Gawande
Call Number: WZ100 G286c 2002
ISBN: 0805063196
Publication Date: 2002-04-04
Added to the collection 01/2014.

Cover Art
The Ghost Map - Steven Johnson
Call Number: WC264 J69g 2006
ISBN: 1594489254
Publication Date: 2006-10-19
Added to the collection 01/2014.

Cover Art
Infectious Ideas - Jennifer Brier
Call Number: WC503.4 AA1 B853i 2009
ISBN: 0807833142
Publication Date: 2009-11-01
Added to the collection 01/2014.

Cover Art
Mama Might Be Better off Dead - Laurie Kaye Abraham
Call Number: W84 AA1 A127m 1994
ISBN: 0226001393
Publication Date: 1994-11-15
Added to the collection 01/2014.

Cover Art
Phobias - Helen Saul
Call Number: WM178 S256p 2012
ISBN: 1611454700
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
Added to the collection 01/2014.

Cover Art
Qigong and Chinese Self-Massage - Zeng Qingnan
Call Number: WB541 M48q 2014
Publication Date: 2014
Added to the collection 04/2014

Cover Art
Saints, Scholars and Schizophrenics - Nancy Scheper-Hughes
Call Number: WM31 S325s 2001
ISBN: 0520224809
Publication Date: 2001-01-03
Added to the collection 01/2014.

Cover Art
The Speckled Monster - Jennifer Carrell
Call Number: WC588 C314s 2003
ISBN: 0525947361
Publication Date: 2003-06-02
Added to the collection 02/2014

Cover Art
The Spirit Catches You and You Fall Down - Anne Fadiman
Call Number: WL385 F145s 2012
ISBN: 0374533407
Publication Date: 2012-04-24
Added to the collection 01/2014.

Cover Art
We Are Our Brains - D. F. Swaab; Jane Hedley-Prole (Translator)
Call Number: WL102 W883w 2014
ISBN: 9780812992960
Publication Date: 2014-01-07
Added to the collection 04/2014

 

Information Services

Ask a Librarian

LHS-Chicago: (312) 996-9163

LHS-Peoria: (309) 671-8491

CLHS-Rockford: (815) 395-5650

LHS-Urbana: (217) 244-0607

Email reference

More research help

Chat with a Librarian (IM Reference) 

Monday-Friday 11am-4pm

UIC Home

Copyright © 2013 The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois.

  1. Contact us |
  2. Web Privacy Notice |
  3. Having problems accessing this site? Contact user support.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip