Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

Community Medicine Residents: Consumer Health Databases & Resources

Online Library Workshops

Please register for these workshops through the UIC Library Events calendar.

Health Information on the Web

Resources for finding and evaluating health information on the Web:

More Databases

Can't find what you're looking for?

Check the Database A-Z list.

Consumer Health Databases

Consumer Health Information Resources

3 Necessary Accounts for Research

Register for three accounts that will help you in research -

1. ILLIAD - for interlibrary loans of articles that are not available as full text electronically or in print at LHS. LHS delivery is rapid and you may have your article as soon as 1-2 days!

Sign up at:  https://uic.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/IAX/logon.html

You will need your I-Card number, which starts with 28198 or 20111 - you only need to fill out the first page - don't worry about the account information page.

 

2. Refworks - the citation management database can be accessed online from anywhere. 

a. Sign-up at: https://www.refworks.com/refworks2/default.aspx?r=authentication::init&groupcode=RWUIllChicago

The RefWorks Group Code may be needed for when you working off campus.   You will need to login with your NETID and password to get the group code.


b. Familiarize yourself with the Refwork's tutorials page at LHS  http://researchguides.uic.edu/content.php?pid=74619&sid=552483

These tutorials are well worth the time and provide an introduction to the many time-saving features associated with using Refworks to manage your citations and write your papers using Cite-n-Write.

c. Next, view an introductory video on Refworks at UIC (this is the first tutorial on the guide) http://www.uic.edu/depts/lib/lhs/resources/guides/refworks/Refworks%20Intro_demo/Refworks%20Intro_demo.htm

 

 

3. MYNCBI - PubMed's online bibliographic management system and more - use it to save collections, searches, bibliographies....

a. Sign-up at:   https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/account/?back_url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov%2Fbooks%2FNBK3827%2F%23pubmedhelp.PubMed_Quick_Start

 b. Watch the tutorial on MYNCBI  for an Overview http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ks46w3mNAQE

BROWZINE

Ask a Librarian

Liaisons  to Community Medicine from the Library of the Health Sciences - University of Illinois at Chicago

Maureen Clark, MHS, MLIS, Assistant Professor & Assistant Information Services and Clinical Librarian.    Liaison to UI Hospital & Graduate Medical Education & Residency Programs. mdclark@uic.edu

  

Ask a Librarian

LHS-Chicago: (312) 996-9163

LHS-Peoria: (309) 671-8490

CLHS-Rockford: (815) 395-5650

LHS-Urbana: (217) 244-0607

Email reference

Research help

IM Reference available
Monday-Friday 11am-4pm