This is the "M1s" page of the "College of Medicine-Chicago" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content

College of Medicine-Chicago   Tags: ugmedrhyderi  

Last Updated: Apr 23, 2015 URL: http://researchguides.uic.edu/collegeofmedicinechicago Print Guide RSS Updates

M1s Print Page
  Search: 
 

About This Guide

This library guide (LibGuide) supports the Undergraduate Medicine Education Program (UGME) at Chicago.

Evidence -based Medicine Tutorial

UpToDate Anywhere

Point of Care Tools

  • Access Medicine  
      
    Access Medicine features core textbooks for medical education, with additional news and resources. Limited to 16 simultaneous users.
  • ACP Smart Medicine  
      
    Formerly called ACP PIER . ACP Smart Medicine is a Web-based decision-support tool designed for rapid point-of-care delivery of up-to-date, evidence-based guidance for clinicians.

  • ClinicalKey  
      
    ClinicalKey is a peer reviewed, evidence based point-of-care clinical information service for physicians and healthcare professionals. It provides a unique combination of electronic books, medical journals, First Consult, Procedures Consult, practice guidelines, clinical trials, MEDLINE, and abstracts from PubMed. ClinicalKey replaces the content formerly offered through MD Consult.
  • DynaMed  
      
    Evidence-based reference tool intended for physicians and other health care professionals for use primarily at the point-of-care. This resource was partially acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
  • Essential Evidence Plus  
      
    Current answers to clinical medicine questions at the point of care. Can be downloaded to a hand-held device.
  • GIDEON - Global Infectious Disease and Epidemiology Network  
      
    Clinical tool used for diagnosis and reference in the fields of tropical and infectious diseases, epidemiology, microbiology and antimicrobial chemotherapy. This resource was partially acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
  • JBI Connect  
      
    Clinical evidence-based system for nursing and medicine. Provided by the Joanna Briggs Institute. To create a personal account, users will need to register twice using the same username and password.
  • Nursing Reference Center  
      
    The most recent clinical evidence to nurses and other health care professionals, directly at the point-of-care. This resource was partially acquired with funding from the Library/IT Assessment.
  • Rehabilitation Reference Center
    Rehabilitation Reference Center (RRC) is an evidence-based clinical reference tool for use by rehabilitation clinicians at the point-of-care. RRC provides therapists and students with available evidence for their information needs in the areas of: Physical Therapy, Occupational Therapy, Speech Therapy, and more.
  • Stat!Ref Online: Electronic Medical Library  
      
    Collection of searchable e-reference books includes ACP Smart Medicine, Scientific American Medicine, the USP DI, AHFS Drug Information and Stedman’s Dictionary.
  • UpToDate
    UpToDate is an online, peer-reviewed clinical decision support tool with topic reviews covering symptoms, tests and diagnosis, and treatment options for over 8,500 conditions. Off campus users must log in with their UpToDate account.

Quick Reference

 

Library Tutorial for UIC Medical Students

Link:  Library Tutorial on YouTube

Runtime: 10:58

General Contents of the Tutorial - Ask a Librarian; Catalog; Books & E-Books; Journals & E-Journals; Finding Articles in Full-text & Interlibrary Loan; Databases A-Z list; Research and Subject Guides; PubMed & MeSH; Clinical Tools & Point of Care Resources (e.g., DynaMed, UpToDate).  

 

For the full screen view of the Library Tutorial on YouTube

E-Anatomy Resources

 

Physicial Exam/Clinical Reasoning Instruction

Cover Art
Bates Visual Guide to Physical Examination (Online Video)
ISBN: 0781758599
This online series of videos requires you to download RealPlayer (free download available when you link to this series)

Cover Art
Bates Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking - Lynn S. Bickley
ISBN: 9781609137625
Publication Date: 2012-11-12
PRINT: 2 hr Reserve

Cover Art
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination - Richard F. LeBlond; Donald D. Brown; Richard L. DeGowin
Call Number: AVAILABLE ONLINE WITH VIDEO in ACCESSMEDICINE
ISBN: 9780071478984
Publication Date: 2008-10-27
This link opens in AccessMedicine's online copy of DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination to Chapter 3. The Screening Physical Examination. This chapter contains an embedded video of the physical examination (17 min, 16 sec) by Dr. LaBlond.

Cover Art
DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination (Videos Only) - Richard F. LeBlond; Donald D. Brown; Richard L. DeGowin
Call Number: VIDEOS ONLY in ACCESSMEDICINE
ISBN: 9780071478984
Publication Date: 2008-10-27
AccessMedicine's online videos of DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination - physical exam videos only.

Cover Art
Internal Medicine Essentials for Clerkship Students 2 - Patrick C. Alguire (Editor); Patrick Alguire
ISBN: 9781934465134

Cover Art
Mosby's Guide to Physical Examination
ISBN: 9780323055703
PRINT: 2 hr Reserve



Librarian

Maureen Clark, MHS, MLIS
Contact Info
Library of the Health Sciences - Chicago
1750 W. Polk Street
Chicago, IL 60612
Send Email
 

3 Necessary Accounts for Research

Register for three accounts that will help you in research -

1. ILLIAD - for interlibrary loans of articles that are not available as full text electronically or in print at LHS. LHS delivery is rapid and you may have your article as soon as 1-2 days!

Sign up at:  https://uic.illiad.oclc.org/illiad/IAX/logon.html

You will need your I-Card number, which starts with 28198 or 20111 - you only need to fill out the first page - don't worry about the account information page.

 

2. Refworks - the citation management database can be accessed online from anywhere. 

a. Sign-up at: https://www.refworks.com/refworks2/default.aspx?r=authentication::init&groupcode=RWUIllChicago

The RefWorks Group Code may be needed for when you working off campus.   You will need to login with your NETID and password to get the group code.


b. Familiarize yourself with the Refwork's tutorials page at LHS  http://researchguides.uic.edu/content.php?pid=74619&sid=552483

These tutorials are well worth the time and provide an introduction to the many time-saving features associated with using Refworks to manage your citations and write your papers using Cite-n-Write.

c. Next, view an introductory video on Refworks at UIC (this is the first tutorial on the guide) http://www.uic.edu/depts/lib/lhs/resources/guides/refworks/Refworks%20Intro_demo/Refworks%20Intro_demo.htm

 

 

3. MYNCBI - PubMed's online bibliographic management system and more - use it to save collections, searches, bibliographies....

a. Sign-up at:   https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/account/?back_url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov%2Fbooks%2FNBK3827%2F%23pubmedhelp.PubMed_Quick_Start

 b. Watch the tutorial on MYNCBI  for an Overview http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ks46w3mNAQE

ClinicalKey's Book Collection Replaces MDCONSULT's Book Collection!

IMPORTANT NEWS! The ClinicalKey Books Tab points you to the list of books formerly in the MDConsult Collection.

 

Boards Review - Step 1

Surgisphere

Login is your UIC email address (for example netid@uic.edu).
The initial password is your UIC netid You will be prompted to change the password the first time you log in.
You do not need to pay $79.

Boards review titles are available on Reserve at the Circulation Desk.  Reserves may be checked out for 2 hours. Most titles are also available on Open Reserve. Please check the catalog for availability. Many more titles are available and can be found by searching the catalog using   USMLE.

Popular series include:

Appleton & Lange

Blackwell

BRS

Case Files

High-Yield

PreTest

Rapid Review

Comprehensive review titles include:

Cover Art
High-Yield™ - Ronald W. Dudek; Thomas M. Louis
ISBN: 9781451190236
Publication Date: 2014-02-11
LHS Chicago - Open Reserve Print Collection (check catalog)

Cover Art
Step-Up to USMLE Step 2 CK, 3e - Jonathan P. Van Kleunen; Brian Jenkins; Michael Mcinnis; Chris Lewis
ISBN: 9781451189599
Publication Date: 2013-04-15
LHS Chicago Open Reserve Print Collection (check catalog)

Cover Art
Microbiology PreTest Self-Assessment and Review 14/e - Matthew Grisham
ISBN: 9780071791045
Publication Date: 2013-10-08
LHS Chicago Open Reserve Print Collection (check catalog)

Cover Art
Step-Up to USMLE Step 1 - Doctors in Training.com, LLC (Prepared for Publication by); Michael McInnis (Editor); Brian Jenkins (Editor); Samir Mehta (Editor); Sonia Mehta (Editor); Sonul Mehta (Editor); Chris Lewis (Editor); Edmund Milder (Editor); Adam Mirarchi (Editor)
ISBN: 9781451176940
Publication Date: 2013-02-15
LHS Chicago Open Reserve Print Collection (check catalog)

Cover Art
Crush Step 1 - Theodore X. O'Connell; Ryan A. Pedigo; Thomas E. Blair
ISBN: 9781455756216
Publication Date: 2013-12-03
LHS Chicago Open Reserve Print Collection (check catalog)

Cover Art
USMLE Step 2 Secrets - Theodore X. O'Connell
ISBN: 9780323188142
Publication Date: 2013-12-04
LHS Chicago Open Reserve Print Collection (check catalog)

Cover Art
Step-Up to USMLE Step 1 2014 - Brian Jenkins
ISBN: 9781451192773
Publication Date: 2013-12-18
LHS Chicago Open Reserve Print Collection (check catalog)

Cover Art
Step-Up to Pediatrics - Brian Alverson; Jeanine Ronan; Samir S. Shah
ISBN: 9781451145809
Publication Date: 2013-12-03
LHS Chicago Open Reserve Print Collection (check catalog)

Cover Art
Embryology - Ronald W. Dudek
ISBN: 9781451190380
Publication Date: 2014-04-14
LHS Chicago Open Reserve Print Collection (check catalog)

UIC Home

Copyright © 2013 The Board of Trustees of the University of Illinois.

  1. Contact us |
  2. Web Privacy Notice |
  3. Having problems accessing this site? Contact user support.
Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip