Subject and Course Guides: Nursing 304 Professional Nursing Three: Recommended Resources

Library Resources

CINAHL Plus with Full Text
CINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
The Cumulative Index to Nursing and Allied Health (CINAHL) database provides authoritative coverage of the literature related to nursing and allied health.
Cochrane Library
The Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration
DynaMed
DynaMed is an evidence-based information resource used by physicians around the world to answer clinical questions quickly and easily. DynaMed includes thousands of topics covering emergency medicine, cardiology, oncology, infectious diseases, pediatrics, obstetrics and gynecology and much more.

Note: if you get an error message, close the browser and try accessing the site again.

As of June 30, 2024, UIC will no longer have an institutional subscription to DynaMed. More info.
MEDLINE via PubMed@UIC
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations and additional life sciences books and databases. From mid-1960s to present.
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 12 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. PubMed includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.

Websites

Communication Between Providers
From AHRQ
Engage-Illinois
Illinois Hospital Report Card
Institute for Healthcare Improvement
more...less...
"The Institute for Healthcare Improvement (IHI) is an independent not-for-profit organization helping to lead the improvement of health care throughout the world. Founded in 1991 and based in Cambridge, Massachusetts, IHI works to accelerate improvement by building the will for change, cultivating promising concepts for improving patient care, and helping health care systems put those ideas into action."
National Guideline Clearinghouse Funding for the AHRQ National Guideline Clearinghouse (NGC) ceased on July 16, 2018.
NGC is No Longer Available Online. Alternatives: Search the Trip Pro database and limit to "Guidelines"; or Search specific associations and organizations websites for their practice guidelines.
Nursing Care Center National Patient Safety Goals (pdf)
From the Joint Commission
Patient Safety Network
more...less...
AHRQ Patient Safety Network (PSNet) is a national web-based resource featuring the latest news and essential resources on patient safety.

Creating PICO Question Resources

Trip Pro
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to find high quality research evidence to support clinical practice and care. It simultaneously searches evidence-based sources of systematic reviews, practice guidelines, MEDLINE's Clinical Queries, medical image databases, e-textbooks, and patient information.

Note: You must download the Cisco Anyconnect VPN to access Trip Pro Database from off campus. Here are instructions for Windows, MAC, Linux, Android, and IOS users:

Windows
MacOS
Linux
Android
iOS

PICO Linguist
(National Library of Medicine)

Additional Help

Literature Searching Tutorials
Videos and more to learn how to use CINAHL and PubMed

Citation Linker
more...less...
Tool to look up an article based on citation information.
Journal Title Search
Use this tool to search journal holdings at UIC.

University of Illinois Chicago

University
Library

Search UIC Library Collections

Search UIC Library Website

Nursing 304 Professional Nursing Three: Recommended Resources

Library Resources

Websites

Creating PICO Question Resources

Additional Help

Richard J. Daley Library

Library of the Health Sciences, Chicago

Library of the Health Sciences, Peoria

Crawford Library of the Health Sciences, Rockford

UIC Law Library