Electronic Reference Collections
Digitized reference books can provide valuable background information about your research topic. Encyclopedia articles, historical dictionaries, and other reference books summarize what scholars have already written about important historical events, groups, institutions, processes, and conflicts, giving you context for your own research. Each entry includes a bibliography referring to more detailed sources and can also provide you with vocabulary you can use when searching for books and journal articles.
- American National Biography
Biographical work on people from all eras who have influenced American history and culture.
Note: Limited to 5 simultaneous users - Credo ReferenceProvides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
- Oxford Reference OnlineSpecialty encyclopedias, handbooks, thesauruses and dictionaries; emphasis on American Literature and Western Civilization.
- SAGE Reference E-BooksGrowing collection of topic and subject encyclopedias online. Note: To search only UIC subscribed titles, please click the Available to me button on the right.
Electronic Reference Collections
- Credo ReferenceProvides access to a collection of aggregated and integrated reference books from high-quality publishers.
- Oxford Reference OnlineOxford Reference Online is a digital reference shelf of topical encyclopedias, handbooks, thesauruses and dictionaries with emphasis on Literature and Western Civilization . Limited to 5 simultaneous users.
- SAGE Reference E-BooksGrowing collection of topic and subject encyclopedias online. Note: To search only UIC subscribed titles, please click the Available to me button on the right.
