Skip to main content

Your browser is unsupported

We recommend using the latest version of IE11, Edge, Chrome, Firefox or Safari.

UIC Library Faculty Profile: Megan Keller Young, Instructor & Special Collections Librarian, CME Group Project Archivist: About

Instructor & Special Collections Librarian, CME Group Project Archivist

Megan Keller Young
Contact:
Special Collections and University Archives
UIC Library of the Health Sciences
1750 W. Polk St.
Chicago, IL 60612
(312) 996-8977 or (312) 996-2742
Subjects:Health Sciences

Special Collections at Library of the Health Sciences

Are you interested in historical public health data, early pharmacopoeias, or what is was like to be a nurse in the 1930s? We have answers to all that and more in Special Collections. The Special Collections Department at the Library of the Health Sciences contains a variety of materials documenting Chicago's rich history as a center for the education and practice of the medical arts. You can find out more by visiting the LHS Special Collections LibGuide. I am happy to answer any questions!

About the CME Group Collections

I am also the Project Archivist for the CME Group Collections. The CME Group Collections contain the records of many of Chicago's commodity exchanges, notably the Chicago Board of Trade (CBOT). The Board of Trade was founded on April 3, 1848 by 82 Chicago merchants and business leaders in a flour store attic, and continues today as the world’s oldest commodities exchange. Along with other exchanges, CBOT helped spur Chicago's growth into the metropolis of today. The commodity exchanges still have significant influence on today's markets.

The collections contain materials documenting the history of the exchange; its executive officers and members; its operations, including committees and departments; its rules, by-laws, and regulations; and statistical information. The materials include correspondence, reports, ledgers, meeting minutes, rulebooks, visual materials, financial records, press clips, publications, transcripts, contracts, rulings and resolutions, statistics, and other documents.

To learn more about the CME Group Collections, view the CME Group LibGuideBusiness and Economic History LibGuide, or visit the collections' finding aids.

About me

I graduated from Wayne State University in 2010 with my Masters of Library and Information Science with an Archival Administration Certificate. Recently I earned a Special Collections Certificate from the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

I have been involved with the CME Group Collections processing project since 2011. I began as the Assistant Processing Archivist and became Project Archivist in February 2014. I recently became the Special Collections Librarian at Library of the Health Sciences, and am excited to work in a somewhat new field!

My research interests stem from my experiences processing and implementing outreach initiatives with the CME Group Collections. I am interested in how best to provide access to large amounts of data, especially in finding aid form, as well as outreach initiatives with primary source materials. I am also interested in how archival standards apply to business archival collections.

Presentations

Keller, Megan. More product more process: The CME Group Collections. Midwest Archives Conference Annual Meeting, Milwaukee, WI. April 30, 2016.

Lurie, Jae, Megan Keller, and Kit Fluker. “Ten solutions to the challenges of processing large collections.” Archival Outlook (March/April 2014): 6, 28.

Lurie, J., Keller, M., & Fluker, K. (2013, August). Ten solutions to the challenges of processing large collections. Poster presented at the Society of American Archivists annual meeting, New Orleans, LA.