Making a mind map of your Topic: Mind mapping, or concept mapping as it is also called, can be an effective way of brainstorming. By plotting out your topic in a visual manner, you can discover connections and identify any missing pieces. It's also a great way to develop keywords and synonyms for database searching. Once you develop your topic through mind mapping, it can be easier to pinpoint specific ideas to focus on in your research and outline your ideas for the writing process.
Provides snapshots of current affairs. Single-themed reports are researched and written by experienced observers from a range of viewpoints. From 1923 to present.
CQ Researcher Reports are published 44 times per year and cover political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each 13,000-word CQ Researcher report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist.
The Chronicle is a primary source of news and information for the college and university community. New issues are posted on Monday mornings, with daily, Web-only updates.
Education Week is a United States national newspaper covering K–12 education providing daily breaking news and an array of other information resources, including such popular news blogs as Politics K-12, State EdWatch, Curriculum Matters, and an array of opinion blogs.
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research Center does not take policy positions.
The following resources are also listed under Databases on the library website. You can search Academic Search Complete, Education Research Complete and ERIC together through EbscoHOST.
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
Searches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.