Research is a conversation in which you engage with, interpret, synthesize and challenge different sources, ultimately adding your own voice to the conversation. The web is full of different source types that contribute different perspectives to the conversation, some more scholarly than others.
Instructions: Look/skim/read through the source assigned to your group, and consider:
Who is the author? (Find more information)
What type of publication is this? (Find more information)
Who is the intended audience of this source?
What type of writing is this? (Look at format and language)
Does the author admit bias or seem committed to a viewpoint, and is that OK?
Based on this information, discuss with your group (and try to come to a consensus) whether your source might be useful for a research paper. Why/why not? If you would use it, *how* would you use it?
Full text coverage of communication and mass media and related fields.
Communication & Mass Media Complete provides citation coverage in areas related to communication and mass media. This database originated with merging of two databases, CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index. In addition, Communication & Mass Media Complete offers full text for over 200 titles.
International literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration & policy. From 1975 to present. See also Worldwide Political Science Abstracts.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts is building on the merged backfiles of Political Science Abstracts, published by IFI / Plenum, 1975-2000, and ABC POL SCI, published by ABC-CLIO, 1984-2000. The database provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.
Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy. Provides abstracts of journal articles, books, book chapters, dissertations and working papers, and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,500+ serials publications.
Provides snapshots of current affairs. Single-themed reports are researched and written by experienced observers from a range of viewpoints. From 1923 to present.
CQ Researcher Reports are published 44 times per year and cover political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy. Each 13,000-word CQ Researcher report is a unique work, investigated and written by a seasoned journalist.