Recommended Databases
- PsycINFONow called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
- Web of ScienceMultidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
- Sociological AbstractsInternational literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Social Services Abstracts (1979 - current)Provides current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
- Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social MovementA collection of primary and secondary resources, with texts and videos, pertaining to the history and contributions of the disability community.
- Sociological AbstractsInternational literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
- Social Services Abstracts (1979 - current)Provides current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development.
- GenderWatchFocuses on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
- Alternative Press Index
Alternative Press Index covers alternative radical and left publications. Limited to 1 simultaneous user.
- JSTORDigitized back issues of scholarly journals with a rolling date of five years ago. Covers a wide variety of disciplines.
- PsycINFONow called APA PsycINFO. Abstract and index of Psychology and the psychological aspects of related disciplines, such as medicine, nursing, sociology, business, education, etc.
- Project MuseJournals in literature and criticism, history, the visual and performing arts, cultural studies, education, political science, gender studies, economics, and many others.
- Public Affairs Information Service International (PAIS Index)Political, social, and public policy issues, especially any topics that are or might become the subject of legislation.
- Art Full Text (H.W. Wilson)
Featuring full-text articles plus abstracting and indexing of an international array of peer-selected publications, Art Full Text is a useful database for art students and art historians. It covers many topics from fine, decorative and commercial art to photography, film and architecture. The database also includes Art Index Retrospective which covers index from 1929-1984.
- MLA International Bibliography with Full TextProduced by the Modern Language Association (MLA), the electronic version of the bibliography dates back to the 1920s. The database contains millions of citations as well as full text for 1,000 journals.
Note: to watch the video on how to search, go to MLA International Bibliography on EBSCO - Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals (1934 - current)
The Avery Index treats the subjects of archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation, and architecture.
- BHA: Bibliography of the History of ArtIndex to international literature on the history of art and architecture in Europe and the New World. No new material added after December, 2009.
- CINAHL Plus with Full TextCINAHL covers literature related to nursing and allied health.
- Cochrane LibraryThe Cochrane Library is a collection of databases that contain independent evidence on which to base clinical treatment decisions.
* Cochrane Reviews, aka Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews (CDSR)
* Other Reviews, aka Database of Abstracts of Reviews of Effects (DARE)
* Clinical Trials; aka Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials (CENTRAL)
* Methods Studies, aka Cochrane Methodology Register (CMR)
* Technology Assessments, aka Health Technology Assessment Database (HTA)
* Economic Evaluations, aka National Health Service (NHS) Economic Evaluation Database (NHSEED)
* Cochrane Groups, aka About the Cochrane Collaboration - PubMedPubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's to present.
- EMBASE : Excerpta Medica DatabaseDatabase in biomedicine which also excels in its coverage of pharmaceutical research. From 1974 to present.
Tip: If you have problems with off campus access, use AnyConnect VPN. To install, go to AnyConnect VPN and make sure you select the Library-Resources group.
- IEEE XploreIEEE journals and conference proceedings; Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET) journals and proceedings; all current IEEE Standards.
Note: If you're unable to set up an IEEE account, go to https://ieeexplore.ieee.org/. After creating an account, go to IEEE in the library website and sign in. - ScienceDirectA web database for research that contains abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles in the physical sciences and engineering, life sciences, health sciences, and social sciences and humanities.
- Academic Search Complete
This multidisciplinary database provides access to articles from journals, magazines, and reference sources across all subject areas. Coverage is primarily from 1980 to the present, with some older content.
- America: History and Life
America: History and Life provides articles on the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present.
- Google ScholarSearches for scholarly materials such as peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from broad areas of research. It includes a variety of academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories and universities, as well as scholarly articles available across the web.
- OvidPlatform for ebooks, journals and databases in clinical medicine, nursing, allied health sciences, and psychology. Limited to 125 simultaneous users.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalProQuest Dissertations & Theses (PQDT) Global is the world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, offering millions of works from thousands of universities. Each year hundreds of thousands of works are added. Full-text coverage spans from 1743 to the present, with citation coverage dating back to 1637.
- SAGE Research MethodsProvides over 1,000 core texts as well as thousands of additional videos, cases, datasets, tools, and how-to guides for research methods across the disciplines.
- ScopusScopus is the largest abstract and citation database including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications and quality web sources. Subject coverage includes: Chemistry, Physics, Mathematics and Engineering; Life and Health Sciences; Social Sciences, Psychology and Economics; Biological, Agricultural and Environmental Sciences
- Web of ScienceMultidisciplinary coverage of over 10,000 journals in the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities, as well as published proceedings for over 12,000 conferences per year, and over 50,000 scholarly books. Allows searching for articles in the database that have cited a particular work, as well as perform other analytics.
